Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Research Help: Searching for Articles

Searching for Articles

Searching for journal articles?

Pick a database:

When you need to find articles, the first place to look is in the library databases.

Some databases are general and others cover specific subject areas. A good place to start searching for articles is the database Academic Search Complete, because it covers a wide range of subjects and contains many articles in full-text. There are also subject specific Databases. 


                    

You can find a database by browsing for them in the subject area listing or the alphabetical listing. Top databases, like Academic Search Complete, are located in the drop-down menu, "Top Databases," on the library's homepage.

Begin your search:

The database you decide to search may look different than this one, but most databases contain a set of several search boxes. Split up your search terms so there is one one word in each box. Or, if there are two or more words that together as a phrase, like "global warming", surround them in quotation marks.

Refine your results by categories like resource time, date, or Subject Terms. 

 

Access the articles:

If your article has a PDF full-text link, then you are all set to go! 

 

No PDF full-text link? That's okay, You can request the item through Interlibrary Loan (ILL)!

What is a Database?

What is a database?

A database is a collection of organized information. All of our library databases are searchable, digitized collections of information and useful for fast search and retrieval. 

Databases & Resources