Research Guides: PAS525: Critical Inquiry, Research & Epidemiology: Foreground

What Type of Question do you have?

|
Point of Care or Resources / Services or Rare / Academic Interest

Foreground questions are specific questions to help make decisions about a particular patient or population. These questions are more specific and more complex than background questions.
Example Foreground question:

Are cholinesterase inhibitors effective when compared with placebo in slowing the rate of functional impairment in a 55-year-old male patient with Alzheimer's Disease?

Academic Literature

PubMed PubMed® comprises more than 33 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
PubMed Clinical Queries

MEDLINE Complete This link opens in a new window Combines the National Library of Medicine's bibliographic database with links to the complete text of articles from leading medical journals. The database offers information related to the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences.
ScienceDirect Health and Life Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window Full text articles in health, medicine, and life sciences.
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window CINAHL Plus with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 750 journals indexed in CINAHL. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index – with no embargo. CINAHL Plus with Full Text is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature.
PsycNET This link opens in a new window APA PsycNET offers the combined resources of the PsycArticles, PsycINFO, and PsycBooks. Covers psychology and related fields such as psychiatry, sociology, education, and communication.