Research Guides: PAS525: Critical Inquiry, Research & Epidemiology: Background Questions

What Type of Question do you have?

Background Questions are general questions about foundational concepts. They ask for general knowledge about an illness, disease, condition, or process. They cover

terminology
general pathology
general drug information
examination or assessment procedure

Example Background questions:

What is the pathology of malaria?
What drugs are used to treat cardiovascular disease?
How is Celiac's disease diagnosed?

Basic Science Resources

PubMed PubMed® comprises more than 33 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window AccessMedicine is continually updated resource that gives you access to leading medical books.
EBSCO Academic eBook Collection This link opens in a new window This growing collection contains a large selection of multidisciplinary eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subject matter. 135,000 + eBooks.

You can also look for background information in your assigned textbooks and class syllabi.

Background Clinical Resources

AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window AccessMedicine is continually updated resource that gives you access to leading medical books.

To answer some background clinical questions regarding rare or academic interests, you may need to search the literature.

Academic Literature

PubMed PubMed® comprises more than 33 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
PubMed Clinical Queries

MEDLINE Complete This link opens in a new window Combines the National Library of Medicine's bibliographic database with links to the complete text of articles from leading medical journals. The database offers information related to the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences.
ScienceDirect Health and Life Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window Full text articles in health, medicine, and life sciences.
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window CINAHL Plus with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 750 journals indexed in CINAHL. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index – with no embargo. CINAHL Plus with Full Text is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature.
PsycNET This link opens in a new window APA PsycNET offers the combined resources of the PsycArticles, PsycINFO, and PsycBooks. Covers psychology and related fields such as psychiatry, sociology, education, and communication.