Research Guides: COMM100: Public Speaking: Images

Art Collections

ARTstor This link opens in a new window Digital images (over 1 million) in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities and the social sciences.

Ad*Access Images and information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955.
Europeana Paintings, music, films and books from Europe's galleries, libraries, archives and museums.
Minneapolis Institute of Arts Digital Collections Digital collections of art, music, video and news from the Minneapolis Institute of Art
Smithsonian Archives of American Art Archives of American Art collects, preserves, and makes available primary sources documenting the history of the visual arts in the United States.
Unurth: Street Art Images of street art from around the world.
Digital Library for the Decorative Arts and Material Culture The Digital Library for the Decorative Arts and Material Culture collects and creates electronic resources for study and research of the decorative arts, with a particular focus on Early America. Included are electronic texts and facsimiles, image databases, and Web resources.
British Library Online Gallery
Library of Congress Digital Collections Access online collections: view maps & photographs; read letters, diaries & newspapers; hear personal accounts of events; listen to sound recordings & watch historic films.
Sistine Chapel Information about the Sistine Chapel from the Vatican Website. Includes a virtual tour.
National Gallery of Art Images Provides access to over 50,000 images of artwork that are available for download, most without use restrictions

Openverse Openverse is a tool that allows users to search over 500 million images that are freely available to be freely used and adapted.
EveryStockPhoto Searches for free photos on the internet. View a photo's license by clicking on the license icon, below and left of the photo.
Free Images Search through a collection of 6000 photographs. Photos are free to use for personal or commercial purposes, just make sure to credit the photographer.
Wikimedia Commons Free access to images, sound, and video files in the public domain or with Creative Commons licenses.
NYPL Digital Gallery Provides access to 900,000+ images digitized from primary sources and printed rarities in the collections of The New York Public Library, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints and photographs, illustrated books, printed ephemera, and more.
Library of Congress: Prints & Photgraphs Online Catalog Historical photographs from the Library of Congress. Search by keyword or browse by collection.
U.S. National Archives Photostream Documents and Photographs digitized and uploaded to Flickr.
LIFE Photo Archive Search millions of photographs from the LIFE photo archive, stretching from the 1750s to today. Most were never published and are now available for the first time through the joint work of LIFE and Google.

These are general guidelines. Refer to the manual or contact a librarian for more information.

Each citation should have a hanging indent.

MLA

Artist's name. Title. Date the image was created. Museum, City. Web. Database name or title of site. Date of access.

Chicago

Artist's name. Title or description (image). Available from: Website or database. <URL>. (Accessed on date).

APA

Author (Role of Author). (Year image was created). Title of work [Type of work], Retrieved Month Day, Year, from: URL (address of website)

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

The Cell Image Library "This library is a public and easily accessible resource database of images, videos, and animations of cells, capturing a wide diversity of organisms, cell types, and cellular processes. " Video/image entries also include information about cellular processes or component featured.
Government Comics Collection Government-sponsored comics from the University of Nebraska-Lincoln Libraries.
Dr. Seuss Went to War: A Catalog of Political Cartoons This collection contains the political cartoons that Dr. Seuss created between 1940-1943.