Research Guides: Sociology: Statistics

Online Statistical Resources

Statistical Abstracts of the United States Provides statistics on a variety of topics including health facilities & expenditures, social insurance, and human services.
U.S. Census Data The Census Bureau is the leading source of quality data about the nation's people and economy.
FCSM The Federal Committee on Statistical Methodology (FCSM) is an interagency committee dedicated to improving the quality of Federal statistics.
United Nations Demographic Yearbook A world summary of population, birth, death, marriage, and divorce data.
Social Indicators Country data on: population, youth and elderly populations, human settlements, water supply and sanitation, housing, health, child-bearing, education, literacy, income and economic activity, unemployment.
Bureau of Labor Statistics Collected by the U.S. Department of Labor, these statistics cover a broad range of topics rated to labor along with a variety of reports and data tools.

Historical Statistics of the United States Millenium Edition This link opens in a new window Includes over 37,000 data series on a variety of topics such as migration, health, crime, slavery, American Indians, and poverty.

Childstats.gov This website offers easy access to statistics and reports on children and families, including: family and social environment, economic circumstances, health care, physical environment and safety, behavior, education and health.
AidData Provides free access to the world's largest database of individual foreign aid projects. Includes software applications to analyze these data and a blog for discussion of international development. Hosted by the College of William and Mary, Brigham Young University, and Development Gateway.
Public Data Explorer - Google Labs "Play with the tool to create visualizations of public data, link to them, or embed them in their own webpages." Use data from the sources listed in data directory on the website, or upload your own. From Google Labs.
Data.gov The home of the U.S. Government’s open data, including data, tools, and resources to conduct research, develop web and mobile applications, design data visualizations, and more
Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention OJJDP sponsors research, program, and training initiatives; develops priorities and goals and sets policies to guide federal juvenile justice issues; disseminates information about juvenile justice issues; and awards funds to states to support local programming.
Uniform Crime Reporting Statistics The FBI has gathered crime offense statistics from law enforcement agencies across the Nation through its Uniform Crime Reporting (UCR) Program since 1930." Statistics collected for: "violent crime (murder and nonnegligent manslaughter, forcible rape, robbery, and aggravated assault) and property crime (burglary, larceny-theft, and motor vehicle theft). Use the table-building tool to specify offenses, locality (city, state), and year(s).
Statistical and Social Science Data Created and compiled by the Geostat Center at UVA. Search for data collections by subject or by region. Some data collections are only available to U

Resources in Grafton

Handbook of U.S. Labor Statistics
Call Number: Ref. HD8051 .A63
1997- present