WHO: Global Health ObservatoryA resource for data and analysis on the global health situation. Provides access to databases, reports, maps and country statistics.
CIA World FactbookThe World Factbook provides and overview of the geography, people, and economies of countries around the world.
United Nations Statistical YearbookA world summary of population, trade, labor, and industry statistics. There is usually a 3-5 year lag in reporting data.
U.S. Government Export PortalBrowse or download time series statistics on U.S. international trade, nationwide, detailed by industry classification and foreign market or supplier.
GapMinderGapminder identifies systematic misconceptions about important global trends and proportions and uses reliable data to develop easy to understand teaching materials to rid people of their misconceptions.
AidDataProvides free access to the world's largest database of individual foreign aid projects. Includes software applications to analyze these data and a blog for discussion of international development. Hosted by the College of William and Mary, Brigham Young University, and Development Gateway.
The World Bank: Open DataThe data catalog provides access to over 7,000 indicators from World Bank Data Sets. Browse by country, topic or indicators.
Public Data Explorer - Google Labs"Play with the tool to create visualizations of public data, link to them, or embed them in their own webpages." Use data from the sources listed in data directory on the website, or upload your own. From Google Labs.
ForeignAssistance.govThe Foreign Assistance Dashboard provides a view of U.S. Government foreign assistance funds and enables users to examine, research, and track aid investments in a standard and easy-to-understand format. The Dashboard is still in its early stages of development.
Websites
These websites are mainly government and NGOs which provide in-depth information about the the social and economic situations of foreign countries.
General Info:
Global Road WarriorThis link opens in a new windowGlobal Road Warrior is a collection of guides for nearly two hundred countries, each consisting of over a hundred topics for learning about culture, customs, history, and language worldwide.
U.S. Department of StateThe State Department provides travel information, fact sheets, and current news about U.S. relations with foreign countries.
CIA World FactbookThe World Factbook provides and overview of the geography, people, and economies of countries around the world.
World Bank DataUse data to tell your story - the World Bank provides a powerful tool to explore a country's information - education, healthcare, economy, etc.
Office of the HistorianThe Office of the Historian provides access to the official documentary history of the United states - visits to foreign heads of state, diplomatic relations, etc.
Cultural Information
PEW Research CenterIn addition to providing reports on global developments, PEW polls populations on their opinions of various aspects of the world.
Country Commercial GuidesGuides that provide information that a person needs to know in order to do business in a foreign country
World Bank - Doing BusinessDoing Business provides objective measures of business regulations for local firms in 190 economies.
GlobalEdgeView indicators and indices relating to the health of a country's economy, as well as basic information about their political systems.
Healthcare and Education
Data Bank - Health and NutritionCreate reports on various aspects of the health indicators of a country's population, such as access to healthcare, life expectancy, average calorie intake, etc.
World Health OrganizationView factsheets on various measures of health - obesity rates, exercise levels, alcohol intake, and other potential health risks
Data Bank - EducationCreate reports on various aspects of a country's education levels - average standardized test scores, literacy rates, gender differences in education, etc.
World Inequality Database on EducationThe World Inequality Database on Education (WIDE) highlights the powerful influence of circumstances, such as wealth, gender, ethnicity and location, over which people have little control but which play an important role in shaping their opportunities for education and life. It draws attention to unacceptable levels of education inequality across countries and between groups within countries, with the aim of helping to inform policy design and public debate.
