Research Guides: Political Science: Maps

Create your own map!

WorldMap A resource from Harvard University which allows you to create a map using one of their 1800 data sets, or upload your own data set. Any map you create can be embedded in a website, viewed on Google Earth or printed.
Public Data Explorer - Google Labs "Play with the tool to create visualizations of public data, link to them, or embed them in their own webpages." Use data from the sources listed in data directory on the website, or upload your own. From Google Labs.
GapMinder Gapminder identifies systematic misconceptions about important global trends and proportions and uses reliable data to develop easy to understand teaching materials to rid people of their misconceptions.

Maps and Atlases

Library of Congress: Maps Collection Selection of digitzed maps from the Geography and Map Division of the Library of Congress.
U.S. Government Maps Includes Census, environmental, health and weather maps.
Norman B. Leventhal Map Center The Norman B. Leventhal Map Center at the Boston Public Library contains over 200,000 historic maps and 5,000 historic atlases from the 15th century to the present. Browse through digitized versions online by location, subject, author, date, publisher and projection.
Bodleian Map Room Includes digitized maps of British history and many areas of the world that were once part of the British Empire.
World Digital Library Links to over 5,000 primary documents and images from collections around the world. Sponsored by the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization. Search by date, era, country, continent, topic, and type of resource.
Old Maps Online The OldMapsOnline Portal is an easy-to-use gateway to historical maps in libraries around the world. It allows the user to search for online digital historical maps across numerous different collections via a geographical search. Search by typing a place-name or by clicking in the map window, and narrow by date. The search results provide a direct link to the map image on the website of the host institution.
Map of Life Map of Life "allows you to explore globally the geographic distributions for any terrestrial vertebrate species (as well as North American freshwater fish)." Also plans to have a set of tools for querying, accessing, downloading and summarizing the data.
ORBIS - Mapped Model of the Roman World Travel ancient Rome with this interactive map. It takes into account seasonal variations, means of transportation and communication costs. "ORBIS reveals the true shape of the Roman world and provides a unique resource for our understanding of premodern history." Created by Stanford University.