Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ILL: Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

Welcome to ILL!

Grafton Library's interlibrary loan service allows current Mary Baldwin students, faculty, and staff to borrow materials from other institutions that are not available in any of Grafton collections - including Grafton items that are checked out, lost, or missing. 

The service is free and there is no limit on the number of items you can request. You can request almost anything including books, articles, chapter copies, DVDs, theses, scores, and more.*

*Textbook requests are not accepted through ILL. Though we understand that textbook prices are high, we cannot order any edition of a book that is required for a current semester course.

FAQ

How do I submit a request?

There are three ways to submit an ILL request.

  1. GLDYS (preferred)
  2. ILL Request/Renew Form (use when you can't submit through GLDYS)
  3. Email (last resort)

Submit a request through GLDYS

The easiest and quickest way to submit an ILL request is through the Grafton Library Discovery Service (GLDYS). GLDYS searches material in our library and other libraries across the country and around the world.

Submitting an ILL request through GLDYS is the same no matter what type of material you are requesting.

When you find an item you want, click on the title to open the item record.

Look for the  "Request Item through Interlibrary Loan" button on the right side of the screen.*


Click the button and fill out your information on the form that follows.

*If the button is not present, then you can submit the request using the ILL form.

Patrons who are not living on campus or the Staunton/Augusta County area can include their mailing address on the form and we will ship the requested material to you (but patrons are responsible for return shipping charges). 

The form also provides a Comments box, in case you want to leave any notes for the ILL department about the request. 

Submit a request using the ILL form

If you're unable to submit your request through GLDYS, then you can use our ILL form. You will need to provide all the required citation information in order for the request to be processed.

Submit a request via email

As a last resort, you may reach out directly to the ILL department to make a request. Please only use this option if you're unable to make the request in GLDYS or via the ILL form.  If you send in an email request, you must include complete citation information.

What can I request through ILL?

You can request pretty much anything you want.*

This includes: 

  • Books
  • Book Chapters
  • Articles
  • DVDs
  • CDs
  • Audiobooks
  • Music Scores
  • And any Grafton-owned material that is currently checked-out or otherwise unavailable.

Some items, however, can be difficult, or impossible, to get:

  • eBooks (Most libraries can't lend e-books through ILL because of licensing restrictions)
  • Recently published or pre-1920 books
  • Multi-volume sets and loose-leaf publications
  • Reference materials (but you can request copies of sections, chapters, or entries)
  • Rare books and unpublished manuscripts
  • Entire journal issues
  • Dissertations and theses (Check out our ProQuest Dissertations & Theses database!)

*The only restriction is for books being used as textbooks/required readings for current semester courses.  If the book appears on the required reading list for a course, then it cannot be requested through ILL. 

How do I request an article through a different database?

When you search in our databases and find an article you need, you can submit a request for it directly from the database. But, before submitting an ILL request, always try the “Check for Full Text” link to see if Grafton has the article available for immediate download.

On the next screen, click on the “View Full Text” link, if it is present. This should take you to the page where you can download the article.

If you don't see the "View Full Text" link, or it doesn't take you to your article, then click the "Request This Item" button and fill out your contact information in the form that follows. 

*Pro Tip: if you need the article NOW, copy and paste the title into GLDYS and/or Google Scholar. You may be able to access it in a different database

How long does ILL take?

ILL requests are usually processed and sent out for fulfillment within 24 hours of submission (excluding weekends and holidays) and most items arrive within one to ten business days.

  • Articles - generally 1-2 business days
  • Books - generally 2-10 business days
  • Book chapters - generally 2-7 business days
  • Other - items such as DVDs, audiobooks, and music scores can take longer than normal due to limited availability

Delivery time, though, can vary greatly depending on the material requested, it's availability at nearby institutions, shipping time, and a variety of other factors. Because of this, we cannot guarantee a delivery time so it's important to request materials as far in advance as possible.

If you have questions or concerns about a request that is taking a long time, please contact the ILL department.

How will I know when my items have arrived?

When requested material arrives you will be notified via email. Emails will be sent to the address you provide on the request

How do I get my material?

All physical items (books, DVDs, etc.) will be available on the self-pickup cart located to the left of the circulation desk.

Materials will remain available for 15 days (excluding days the library is closed) from the date you received your arrival notification email. After this time, the material will be pulled and returned to the lender.

If you requested an article, book chapter, or other electronic material you will receive an email with either an access URL and password or an attached PDF copy of the document. Copies sent to you via email do not need to be returned..

Will you mail my items to me if I'm not on campus or living locally?

Yes. If you live outside the Staunton/Augusta area we will mail your items to you, free of charge. When you are finished with the material, mail it back to Grafton at this address:

Grafton Library – Returns
Mary Baldwin University 
201 E. Frederick St.
Staunton, VA 24401

You are responsible for return shipping.

Any copies sent to you via email are yours to keep and do not need to be returned.

How long can I keep my items?

Lending times vary depending on the institution, but the ILL department tries to borrow material from lenders with the longest lend times.

Most material is usually lent for 1-12 weeks.

  • Books: 2-12 weeks
  • DVDs: 1-2 weeks
  • Articles (and anything else sent you electronically): Yours to keep. Does not need to be returned or renewed

Due dates are determined by the lending library and will be shown on the ILL sticker on the item and in your library account. 

If you need your material past the due date, you will need to either renew or reorder the material using the ILL Request/Renew form.

Where/How do I return my ILL material?

Only physical materials with a due date need to be returned.

Any copies sent to you via email are yours to keep and do not need to be returned. 

Making returns is easy and there are several ways you can get the material back to us.

1. Use our 24 hour drop box, located to the right of the front doors
2. Drop off at the main circulation desk
3. Mail material to this address*:

Grafton Library – Returns
Mary Baldwin University 
201 E. Frederick St.
Staunton, VA 24401

*You are responsible for return shipping

How do I renew my ILL material?

Renewals are made at the discretion of the lending institution and can’t be guaranteed

Look at the sticker on the front of your item. If it does not say No Renewals, then a renewal may be possible. 

Use the ILL form to submit your renewal requests. 

If your item can't be renewed, but you still need it, you can request another copy of the item using the ILL form.

Try to submit renewal/reorder requests about 5-7 business days prior to the due date to allow sufficient time for the lender to respond and for new copies to arrive.

How long do renewals take?

Renewal requests are generally answered in 1-3 business days, but it can take longer.

Once you submit a renewal request, you can keep your material until you hear back from the ILL department. If the due date passes before then, don't worry, you won't fined or penalized.

If you don’t receive an email from the ILL department about the status of your renewal request within five business days, please contact the ILL Department to enquire about the status of the request..

How long is the renewal period? 

Renewal periods are set by the lending institution and vary between 1-4 weeks. 

Most items can only be renewed once. After that, if you still need the material, you will need reorder the material using the ILL Form.

How will I know if my item is renewed?

You will be notified via email when your request is either accepted or denied.

If the renewal request is accepted, the email will include the new due date. The new due date will also be reflected in your library account.

If your renewal request is denied the material needs to be returned by the original due date. If that date has passed, then the item is due immediately.

If you still need the material that wasn't renewed, you can reorder it using the ILL Form.

How do I cancel a request?

Simply send an email to the Interlibrary Coordinator as soon as you know you do not need the material. There are no charges for cancelling a request.

How much does ILL cost?

Grafton's ILL service is free and most requests are filled completely free of charge.

Sometimes, though, material is only available from institutions that charge to lend their items. If an item you request cannot be acquired for free, you will be notified of the amount (usually $5-$30) in advance, and will have the opportunity to opt out of requesting the item.

You will also be responsible for any charges Grafton incurs from lenders for overdue, lost, or damaged items. 

What are the overdue fees?

Grafton Library does not charge daily overdue fines for late ILL material. However, 

  • When an item becomes 7 DAYS OVERDUE your ILL privileges will be suspended until it is returned or renewed
  • When an item becomes 10 DAYS OVERDUE you may be billed a $100 replacement charge plus a non-refundable $15 processing fee

The library will send you courtesy notices to remind you of approaching due dates. You will also receive overdue emails once the due date has passed. Failure to receive these automatic notices does not excuse you from returning the material in a timely manner.  

Due dates can be found on the ILL stickers on your items and in your library account.

What are the charges if I lose or damage an item?

You are financially responsible for any damage to or loss of interlibrary loan materials.

Fees are determined by the lending library and can range anywhere from $15 to over $100. We will contact you with the total amount once the lender informs us of their charge and add the fee to you library account. You can pay the charge via cash or check at the Circulation desk.

We cannot accept replacements for damaged or lost items.

How long does ILL take?

ILL requests are usually processed and sent out for fulfillment within 24 hours of submission (excluding weekends and holidays) and most items arrive within one to ten business days.

  • Articles - generally 1-2 business days
  • Books - generally 2-10 business days
  • Book chapters - generally 2-7 business days
  • Other - items such as DVDs, audiobooks, and music scores can take longer than normal due to limited availability

Delivery time, though, can vary greatly depending on the material requested, it's availability at nearby institutions, shipping time, and a variety of other factors. Because of this, we cannot guarantee a delivery time so it's important to request materials as far in advance as possible.

If you have questions or concerns about a request that is taking a long time, please contact the ILL department.

How will I know when my items have arrived?

When requested material arrives you will be notified via email. Emails will be sent to the address you provide on the request

How do I get my material?

All physical items (books, DVDs, etc.) will be available on the self-pickup cart located to the left of the circulation desk.

Materials will remain available for 15 days (excluding days the library is closed) from the date you received your arrival notification email. After this time, the material will be pulled and returned to the lender.

If you requested an article, book chapter, or other electronic material you will receive an email with either an access URL and password or an attached PDF copy of the document. Copies sent to you via email do not need to be returned..

Will you mail my items to me if I'm not on campus or living locally?

Yes. If you live outside the Staunton/Augusta area we will mail your items to you, free of charge. When you are finished with the material, mail it back to Grafton at this address:

Grafton Library – Returns
Mary Baldwin University 
201 E. Frederick St.
Staunton, VA 24401

You are responsible for return shipping.

Any copies sent to you via email are yours to keep and do not need to be returned.

How long can I keep my items?

Lending times vary depending on the institution, but the ILL department tries to borrow material from lenders with the longest lend times.

Most material is usually lent for 1-12 weeks.

  • Books: 2-12 weeks
  • DVDs: 1-2 weeks
  • Articles (and anything else sent you electronically): Yours to keep. Does not need to be returned or renewed

Due dates are determined by the lending library and will be shown on the ILL sticker on the item and in your library account. 

If you need your material past the due date, you will need to either renew or reorder the material using the ILL Request/Renew form.

What can I request through ILL?

You can request pretty much anything you want.*

This includes: 

  • Books
  • Book Chapters
  • Articles
  • DVDs
  • CDs
  • Audiobooks
  • Music Scores
  • And any Grafton-owned material that is currently checked-out or otherwise unavailable.

Some items, however, can be difficult, or impossible, to get:

  • eBooks (Most libraries can't lend e-books through ILL because of licensing restrictions)
  • Recently published or pre-1920 books
  • Multi-volume sets and loose-leaf publications
  • Reference materials (but you can request copies of sections, chapters, or entries)
  • Rare books and unpublished manuscripts
  • Entire journal issues
  • Dissertations and theses (Check out our ProQuest Dissertations & Theses database!)

*The only restriction is for books being used as textbooks/required readings for current semester courses.  If the book appears on the required reading list for a course, then it cannot be requested through ILL. 

How do I submit a request?

There are three ways to submit an ILL request.

  1. GLDYS (preferred)
  2. ILL Request/Renew Form (use when you can't submit through GLDYS)
  3. Email (last resort)

Submit a request through GLDYS

The easiest and quickest way to submit an ILL request is through the Grafton Library Discovery Service (GLDYS). GLDYS searches material in our library and other libraries across the country and around the world.

Submitting an ILL request through GLDYS is the same no matter what type of material you are requesting.

When you find an item you want, click on the title to open the item record.

Look for the  "Request Item through Interlibrary Loan" button on the right side of the screen.*


Click the button and fill out your information on the form that follows.

*If the button is not present, then you can submit the request using the ILL form.

Patrons who are not living on campus or the Staunton/Augusta County area can include their mailing address on the form and we will ship the requested material to you (but patrons are responsible for return shipping charges). 

The form also provides a Comments box, in case you want to leave any notes for the ILL department about the request. 

Submit a request using the ILL form

If you're unable to submit your request through GLDYS, then you can use our ILL form. You will need to provide all the required citation information in order for the request to be processed.

Submit a request via email

As a last resort, you may reach out directly to the ILL department to make a request. Please only use this option if you're unable to make the request in GLDYS or via the ILL form.  If you send in an email request, you must include complete citation information.

How do I request an article?

There are several ways to submit an article request. You can submit them through Grafton Library Discovery Service (GLDYS), through our databases, or, through the ILL Request/Renew form

Request an article through GLDYS

The Grafton Library Discovery Service (GLDYS) is the best way to submit a request if you already know of an article you need, or if you find one while searching in GLDYS. 

To submit an article request in GLDYS, click on the article title.  

Then, click on the “Request Item through Interlibrary Loan button” and fill out your contact information on the form that follows. 

 

Request an article through a database

When you search in our databases and find an article you need, you can submit a request for it directly from the database. But, before submitting an ILL request, always try the “Check for Full Text” link to see if Grafton has the article available for immediate download.

On the next screen, click on the “View Full Text” link, if it is present. This should take you to the page where you can download the article.

If you don't see the "View Full Text" link, or it doesn't take you to your article, then click the "Request This Item" button and fill out your contact information in the form that follows. 

*Pro Tip: if you need the article NOW, copy and paste the title into GLDYS and/or Google Scholar. You may be able to access it in a different database

Request an article using the online form

If you can’t submit a request through GLDYS or our databases, then you can use the ILL Request/Renew form.

Submit a request through GLDYS

Answer 1 Lorem Ipsum Lorem Ipsum Quick Brown Fox Etc. Etc.

Where/How do I return my ILL material?

Only physical materials with a due date need to be returned.

Any copies sent to you via email are yours to keep and do not need to be returned. 

Making returns is easy and there are several ways you can get the material back to us.

1. Use our 24 hour drop box, located to the right of the front doors
2. Drop off at the main circulation desk
3. Mail material to this address*:

Grafton Library – Returns
Mary Baldwin University 
201 E. Frederick St.
Staunton, VA 24401

*You are responsible for return shipping

How do I renew my ILL material?

Renewals are made at the discretion of the lending institution and can’t be guaranteed

Look at the sticker on the front of your item. If it does not say No Renewals, then a renewal may be possible. 

Use the ILL form to submit your renewal requests. 

If your item can't be renewed, but you still need it, you can request another copy of the item using the ILL form.

Try to submit renewal/reorder requests about 5-7 business days prior to the due date to allow sufficient time for the lender to respond and for new copies to arrive.

How long do renewals take?

Renewal requests are generally answered in 1-3 business days, but it can take longer.

Once you submit a renewal request, you can keep your material until you hear back from the ILL department. If the due date passes before then, don't worry, you won't fined or penalized.

If you don’t receive an email from the ILL department about the status of your renewal request within five business days, please contact the ILL Department to enquire about the status of the request..

How long is the renewal period? 

Renewal periods are set by the lending institution and vary between 1-4 weeks. 

Most items can only be renewed once. After that, if you still need the material, you will need reorder the material using the ILL Form.

How will I know if my item is renewed?

You will be notified via email when your request is either accepted or denied.

If the renewal request is accepted, the email will include the new due date. The new due date will also be reflected in your library account.

If your renewal request is denied the material needs to be returned by the original due date. If that date has passed, then the item is due immediately.

If you still need the material that wasn't renewed, you can reorder it using the ILL Form.

How do I cancel a request?

Simply send an email to the Interlibrary Coordinator as soon as you know you do not need the material. There are no charges for cancelling a request.

How much does ILL cost?

Grafton's ILL service is free and most requests are filled completely free of charge.

Sometimes, though, material is only available from institutions that charge to lend their items. If an item you request cannot be acquired for free, you will be notified of the amount (usually $5-$30) in advance, and will have the opportunity to opt out of requesting the item.

You will also be responsible for any charges Grafton incurs from lenders for overdue, lost, or damaged items. 

What are the overdue fees?

Grafton Library does not charge daily overdue fines for late ILL material. However, 

  • When an item becomes 7 DAYS OVERDUE your ILL privileges will be suspended until it is returned or renewed
  • When an item becomes 10 DAYS OVERDUE you may be billed a $100 replacement charge plus a non-refundable $15 processing fee

The library will send you courtesy notices to remind you of approaching due dates. You will also receive overdue emails once the due date has passed. Failure to receive these automatic notices does not excuse you from returning the material in a timely manner.  

Due dates can be found on the ILL stickers on your items and in your library account.

What are the charges if I lose or damage an item?

You are financially responsible for any damage to or loss of interlibrary loan materials.

Fees are determined by the lending library and can range anywhere from $15 to over $100. We will contact you with the total amount once the lender informs us of their charge and add the fee to you library account. You can pay the charge via cash or check at the Circulation desk.

We cannot accept replacements for damaged or lost items.

Resource Sharing & Instruction Librarian