Research Guides: Psychology: Getting Started

Select Journals

Current Psychology Peer reviewed coverage of empirical research from major areas of psychology, including social psychology; small groups & personality; human development; sensation; perception & cognition; clinical & abnormal psychology; & methodology & field research.
Developmental Psychology Developmental Psychology publishes articles that significantly advance knowledge and theory about development across the life span. The journal focuses on seminal empirical contributions. The journal occasionally publishes exceptionally strong scholarly reviews and theoretical or methodological articles.
Health Psychology and Behavioral Medicine An official journal of the European Health Psychology Society, publishing international open access research on psychosocial, behavioral and biomedical health.
International Journal of Psychology Covers all fields of psychology.
Journal of Applied Psychology The Journal of Applied Psychology emphasizes the publication of original investigations that contribute new knowledge and understanding to fields of applied psychology. The journal primarily considers empirical and theoretical investigations that enhance understanding of cognitive, motivational, affective, and behavioral psychological phenomena in work and organizational settings, broadly defined.
Psychological Bulletin Psychological Bulletin ® publishes evaluative and integrative research reviews and interpretations of issues in scientific psychology. Both qualitative (narrative) and quantitative (meta-analytic) reviews will be considered, depending on the nature of the database under consideration for review.

Search for Journal Titles

Journal Finder Have a specific journal in mind? Use our Journal Finder tool to figure out whether or not MBU has full-text access!

Databases - Quick Links

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window A multidisciplinary database providing full text access to scholarly and general interest journals, books, and reports. Holdings: 1887-present
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window This database provides nearly 575 full-text publications, including nearly 550 peer-reviewed titles and covers topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.
PsycNET This link opens in a new window APA PsycNET offers the combined resources of the PsycArticles, PsycINFO, and PsycBooks. Covers psychology and related fields such as psychiatry, sociology, education, and communication.

Find eBooks

Dissertations and Theses Full Text This link opens in a new window Over 2.4 million doctoral and Master's dissertations and theses. International coverage.
EBSCO Academic eBook Collection This link opens in a new window This growing collection contains a large selection of multidisciplinary eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subject matter. 135,000 + eBooks.
Ebook Central (Proquest) This link opens in a new window Contains over 80,000 academic multidisciplinary ebooks across the academic spectrum, including books in business, economics, careers, computers, law, medicine, and the natural and social sciences.

Welcome

Psychology by EpicTopTen.com CC BY 2.0 Flickr

This guide is designed to help you get started on research in Psychology. If you have any questions or want to set up an appointment to meet for more help, please contact a librarian.