BioMed CentralBMC has an evolving portfolio of high quality peer-reviewed journals including broad interest titles such as BMC Biology and BMC Medicine, specialist journals such as Malaria Journal and Microbiome, and the BMC Series.
Kahn Academy - BiologyKhan Academy provides coursework and learning for many different areas.
Biodiversity Heritage LibraryThe Biodiversity Heritage Library improves research methodology by collaboratively making biodiversity literature openly available to the world as part of a global biodiversity community.
Bioethics.netProduced by the nonprofit Center for Practical Bioethics, this is the companion website to the American Journal of Bioethics. This site provides news and commentary focused on research and policy issues, primarily those related to medical biology.
Global Invasive Species Database"The Global Invasive Species Database, managed by the Invasive Species Specialist Group (ISSG) of the Species Survival Commission of IUCN (the International Union for Conservation of Nature), focuses on invasive alien species that threaten native biodiversity and covers all taxonomic groups from micro-organisms to animals and plants in all ecosystems"
The Cell: An Image Library"The Cell: An Image Library™ is a freely accessible, easy-to-search, public repository of reviewed and annotated images, videos, and animations of cells from a variety of organisms, showcasing cell architecture, intracellular functionalities, and both normal and abnormal processes." This site is a project of The American Society for Cell Biology
The Tree of Life Web Project"The Tree of Life Web Project is a collection of information about biodiversity compiled collaboratively by hundreds of expert and amateur contributors. Its goal is to contain a page with pictures, text, and other information for every species and for each group of organisms, living or extinct"
Government Websites
Science.govA portal for scientific material from government agencies.
National Science Digital LibraryThe National Science Digital Library provides free online educational resources for teaching and learning, with emphasis on the sciences, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) disciplines
ScienceWatch.comScienceWatch.com (updated weekly) provides a behind-the-scenes look at the scientists, journals, institutions, nations, and papers.
Sloan Digital Sky SurveyThe Sloan Digital Sky Survey has created the most detailed three-dimensional maps of the Universe ever made, with deep multi-color images of one third of the sky, and spectra for more than three million astronomical objects.
