If your article has a PDF full-text link or and HTML full-text link then you're all set to go!
If you don't see PDF or HTML full-text, or if your article has one of these three images, we'll have to find full-text through other means. First we'll try to find it in another one of Grafton's article databases.
If full-text is unavailable may look like any of these 3 images:
1. Find the article's citation information (article title, authors, journal title, date, volume, issue #). Then pick out the journal title.
The journal name for this article is Behavioral Neuroscience. In the databases, it may look like this on the results page:
Or this when you click on the article title to get the full record:
2. To see if we have full-text of this journal in one of our other databases we'll have to search for the journal title in the Journal Finder. To get to the Journal Finder go to the Grafton Library homepage, and click on the Journal Finder (previously called the Print & Online Journal List). The Journal Finder is an index of all the journals Grafton Library has access to and in which database they're located.
You might already be in a database that has a link direct to the Journal Finder. If so, it will look like this:
3. In the Journal Finder, search for the journal title by entering the first few words or use the Alphabetical list to browse for your title.
Note: If you do a search and come up with no results, check your spelling and/or search in another way, either alphabetically or by Title Contains All Words. If you still get no results, jump to step number 8 below.
4. If MBC has access to the journal, you will see our holdings listed. The holdings information includes the years of coverage and where or in what database you will find the journal. Compare the holdings to your citation to be sure the year your article was published is available. This journal is located in the database PsycArticles.
If you see "Mary Baldwin Print Holdings," that means the journal is in print in the periodicials room of Grafton Library. If you click on the Mary Baldwin Print Holdings link, you will get more information such as whether the journal is bound, on microfiche, in storage, etc. If you are an ADP, MAT, or MLitt student working from off-campus, use our online forms to request your article.
5. If the dates of your article match up with the dates available for the journal in the Journal Finder, click on the database link. In this example, it would be "PsycArticles"
6. Use the date your article was published and the volume and issue number, to locate your article in the journal database.
7. Sometimes we do not have access to the journal either in print or online (see image below). If this is the case, you can place a request for the article through our interlibrary loan department. Go to Grafton's homepage, and click on the link that says Interlibrary Loan under the "Library Services" heading on the left-hand side of the page. Fill out the form with the article's citation information. You'll get an e-mail when the article arrives, usually within 24-48 hours.
Before you even begin to find the full-text of an article, you must understand how to read all the parts of an article citation. This will help you locate your article no matter where you are.
In a database:
In a references or works cited list: (this citation is in APA format)
Decker, F. H., Harris-Kojetin, L. D., & Bercovitz, A. (2009). Intrinsic job satisfaction, overall satisfaction, and intention to leave the job among nursing assistants in nursing homes. Gerontologist, 49(5), 596-610. doi:10.1093/geront/gnp051
First, click the Find full-text at MBC (this will link you directly to the Journal Finder). If the journal is located in another one of Grafton's databases, make sure the dates match up with publication date of your article.
If your journal name brings up zero results in the Journal Finder, or if the dates of your article do not correspond to the dates in the Journal Finder, then you can request the item through Interlibrary Loan.