It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The library has access to a number of different databases that will help you with your historical research.
Use the article databases to search for citations, abstracts and full-text articles.
The newspaper databases will help you find historical newspaper articles.
Video databases provide access to videos on American History--a great source for primary information!
If full-text is not available in your database, first check the Journal Finder to check for access in one of our other databases. If still not available, you can request articles through Interlibrary Loan.
Virginia's Historical NewspapersThis link opens in a new windowFull text newspapers from the state of Virginia covering the time of colonial development to World War I.
JSTORThis link opens in a new windowA scholarly journal archive. Economics, history, math, philosophy, political science, language and literature, sociology, botany, and ecology. Holdings: Varies; from the 1800s - late 2000s
America: History and LifeThis link opens in a new windowArticles and book reviews primarily on the history of the US and Canada. Also indexes select journals in the social sciences and humanities. Holdings: 1954 - present
Academic Search CompleteThis link opens in a new windowA multidisciplinary database providing full text access to scholarly and general interest journals, books, and reports. Holdings: 1887-present
Project MUSEThis link opens in a new windowProject MUSE provides full text, subscription access to current content from scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences.
"Virginia Cavalcade, a handsomely illustrated magazine of Virginia history and culture, was published quarterly (January, April, July, and October) by the Library of Virginia from 1951 to 2002. Each issue contained 48 pages of engaging, authoritative articles, and illustrations in color and black-and-white, depicting Virginia history from the age of exploration to the mid-twentieth century."
Find online at Library of Virginia, or in the Periodicals Room in Grafton Library.
History Notes: the newsletter of the Virginia Historical Society
1991- present. Located in the Periodicals Room in Grafton Library.
The Virginia Magazine of History and Biography
1893-1936, 1940-1942, 1944- present. Located in the Periodicals Room in Grafton Library.