You can look up subject by a particular county, for example:
Augusta County (Va.)-- History
Or by a specific time period:
Virginia -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Sources
Search by Series:
"The Library of Thomas Jefferson"
Historic Newspapers
Chronicling AmericaThis site allows you to search and view newspaper pages from 1860-1922 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. The data is open and can be used outside of the platform.
Richmond Daily DispatchNovember 1860-December 1865. There are currently 1384 issues of the paper available online,
Virginia ChronicleVirginia Chronicle is a historical archive of Virginia newspapers, providing free access to full text searching and digitized images of over 4 million newspaper pages. This collection contains 482,459 issues comprising 4,243,426 pages.
In addition to the growing collection of newspapers found at Virginia Chronicle, the Library of Virginia offers access to a wide array of resources for researching newspapers, from its broad collection of over 3,000 Virginia and West Virginia imprints, both in original ink press copy and on microfilm, to a suite of online resources that provide gateways to a significant range of historical newspapers.
Virginia's Historical NewspapersThis link opens in a new windowFull text newspapers from the state of Virginia covering the time of colonial development to World War I.
On Microfilm in Periodicals
The Virginia gazette daybooks, [microform] 1750-1752, 1764-1766
Call Number: F234.W7 V57
Includes Guide and day books
Virginia papers [microform]
Call Number: F226 .V57 1977
3 reels. "Papers collected by Lyman Draper when he was planning to publish an enlarged and revised edition of Joseph Doddridge's Notes on the Settlements and Indian Wars of the Western Parts of Virginia and Pennsylvania, 1763-1783. Included are original correspondence and correspondence from descendants of Virginia settlers; military records such as orderly books, muster rolls, and correspondence; land records; maps; broadsides; biographical and genealogical sketches; wills; observations
An act for establishing religious freedom, passed in the Assembly of Virginia in the beginning of the year 1786 [microform]
Call Number: Microfiche
The Southern planter ; Southern cultivator
Call Number: AP2.A52 S6881
Farmers' Register [microform]
Call Number: AP2.A52 F176
Publication Date: 1833-1843
Nova Britannia : offering most excellent fruites by planting in Virginia. Exciting all such as be well affected to further the same by Johnson, Robert, fl. 1586-1626, supposed author
Call Number: Microfiche in the periodicals room
Books at Grafton
Annals of Augusta County, Virginia, from 1726 to 1871 by Waddell, Joseph Addison, 1825-1914.
Call Number: F232.A9 W11 1958
Virginia history in documents, 1621-1788 by Gaines, William Harris, 1918-
Call Number: Ref. F229 .G18 1974
For library-use only.
The papers of George Washington by Washington, George, 1732-1799.
Call Number: E312.72 1983
Narratives of early Virginia, 1606-1625 by Tyler, Lyon
Call Number: F229.T97 N3 1946
Lucy Breckinridge of Grove Hill : the journal of a Virginia girl, 1862-1864 by Breckinridge, Lucy Gilmer, 1843-1865.
Call Number: F234.G816 B733
Good newes from Virginia. 1613 ... by Whitaker, Alexander, 1585-1617.
Call Number: F229 .W575 1936
Official letters of the governors of the State of Virginia
Call Number: F221 .V6
v. 1. The letters of Patrick Henry.--v. 2. The letters of Thomas Jefferson.--v. 3. The letters of Thomas Nelson and Benjamin Harrison
Historical register of Virginians in the Revolution : soldiers, sailors, marines, 1775-1783 by Gwathmey, John Hastings
