Research Guides: Business: In-Depth Research

Article Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window A multidisciplinary database providing full text access to scholarly and general interest journals, books, and reports. Holdings: 1887-present
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window Business research database, providing full text for more than 2,300 journals, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed titles.
Factiva This link opens in a new window Business, industry, and market data; newspaper and journal articles; and quick links to essential business web sites. Holdings: Varies; from the 1980s - present
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window An index of scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports about environmental concerns.
MasterFILE Premier This link opens in a new window Contains full text for more than 1,750 periodicals covering general reference, business, health, education, general science, multicultural issues and much more. This database also contains full text for nearly 500 reference books, 86,019 biographies, 105,787 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of 293,480 photos, maps & flags.
Market Atlas (formerly Mergent) This link opens in a new window Company data, industry reports, financial information and much more. Check out special modules such Mergent Analytics to help you with your business research. Mergent Analytics allows the user to chart and graph numerous equity analytics, such as Activity Ratios, Business Segment Data, Leverage & Coverage, Price & Return, Profitability and Revenue & EPS.
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window Provides full text for more than 50 regional business publications (including titles from Crain Communications).

More Online Resources

Entrepreneur's Reference Guide to Small Business Information he Entrepreneur's Reference Guide to Small Business Information was compiled by business reference specialists at the Library of Congress to help beginners (and established business owners who keep meeting new problems) find sources that can guide them to the right questions and the best answers.
GapMinder Gapminder identifies systematic misconceptions about important global trends and proportions and uses reliable data to develop easy to understand teaching materials to rid people of their misconceptions.
Public Data Explorer - Google Labs "Play with the tool to create visualizations of public data, link to them, or embed them in their own webpages." Use data from the sources listed in data directory on the website, or upload your own. From Google Labs.
How to start a Business in Virginia This step-by-step guide to starting a business in the state of Virginia was written by Harbor Compliance, a business document filing service.

AidData Provides free access to the world's largest database of individual foreign aid projects. Includes software applications to analyze these data and a blog for discussion of international development. Hosted by the College of William and Mary, Brigham Young University, and Development Gateway.
Business Wire Founded in 1961, Business Wire is a trusted source for news organizations, journalists, investment professionals, and regulatory authorities, delivering news directly into editorial systems and leading online news sources via its multi-patented NX Network.
CIA World Factbook The World Factbook provides and overview of the geography, people, and economies of countries around the world.
Coface Site presents country risk information in three main sections: Country Risks, Sectors and Business Climate. The sectors section contains global snapshots and ratings of industries.
CRB Commodity Index
ForeignAssistance.gov The Foreign Assistance Dashboard provides a view of U.S. Government foreign assistance funds and enables users to examine, research, and track aid investments in a standard and easy-to-understand format. The Dashboard is still in its early stages of development.
GlobalEdge View indicators and indices relating to the health of a country's economy, as well as basic information about their political systems.
International Trade Administration The International Trade Administration, as well as other organizations, publishes a variety of trade-related statistics and tools for public use.
International Trade Center Statistics and information on international trade, organized by country.
Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development The OECD is an international organization providing statistics, reports, and news about the global economy.
UNSD: Demographics and Social Statistics Country data on: population, youth and elderly populations, human settlements, water supply and sanitation, housing, health, child-bearing, education, literacy, income and economic activity, unemployment.
United Nations Demographic Yearbook A world summary of population, birth, death, marriage, and divorce data.
United Nations Statistical Yearbook A world summary of population, trade, labor, and industry statistics. There is usually a 3-5 year lag in reporting data.
WHO: Global Health Observatory A resource for data and analysis on the global health situation. Provides access to databases, reports, maps and country statistics.
The World Bank: Open Data The data catalog provides access to over 7,000 indicators from World Bank Data Sets. Browse by country, topic or indicators.
World Development Reports The World Bank's annual World Development Report (WDR) is a guide to the economic, social and environmental state of the world today. Each year the WDR provides in depth analysis of a specific aspect of development.
World Food Situation Contains information on the world food situation including commodities, food situation indicators and reports on short and long term market issues.

North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) NAICS is the standard used by Federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data related to the U.S. business economy.
U.S. International Trade Commission Publications Library Search and access USITC publications by keyword, by publication number, by title, by date, by subject, and by investigation or study type.
EDGAR (Securities & Exchange Commission) Provides access to registration statements, periodic reports, and other forms for all companies, foreign and domestic.
FCSM The Federal Committee on Statistical Methodology (FCSM) is an interagency committee dedicated to improving the quality of Federal statistics.
U.S. Government Export Portal Browse or download time series statistics on U.S. international trade, nationwide, detailed by industry classification and foreign market or supplier.
Data.gov The home of the U.S. Government’s open data, including data, tools, and resources to conduct research, develop web and mobile applications, design data visualizations, and more
Statistical Abstracts of the United States Provides statistics on a variety of topics including health facilities & expenditures, social insurance, and human services.

Historical Statistics of the United States Millenium Edition This link opens in a new window Includes over 37,000 data series on a variety of topics such as migration, health, crime, slavery, American Indians, and poverty.

U.S. Census Data The Census Bureau is the leading source of quality data about the nation's people and economy.
USDA Economic Research Service Get data and reports on animal products, crops, farm economy, international markets and trade, and more.

Chat with a Librarian

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Sustainability

Dow Jones Sustainability World Index The Dow Jones Sustainability™ World Index comprises global sustainability leaders as identified by S&P Global through the Corporate Sustainability Assessment (CSA).
Environmental News Network Publishes relevant news stories on environmental issues.
GreenBiz GreenBiz Group is a media and events company that reports on trends in business, technology, and society that contribute to the transition to greener practices.
Sustainable Business Provides business and investor news, green job opportunities, business connections and a resource directory covering all sectors.