It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Reference books like dictionaries and encyclopedias are great ways to get background information on your topic. Looking up your topic can get you biographical or historical information, general concepts, lists of works, and related terms depending on your topic.
The type of information you gather from reference sources is seldom the kind of critical analysis your professors are looking for in your papers. Use reference sources to become familiar with your topic so that you can search smarter when you look for books and articles. You should generally refrain from using them in your papers. Situations vary, so if you're unsure, check with your instructor.
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
Call Number: Ref. QD65.H3 2000-01
Handbook of Physical Properties of Organic Chemicals
Call Number: Ref. QD257.7.H374 1997
Image used under the terms of a CC BY-SA 2.0 License. Image Copyright profkarim.
This guide is designed to help you get started on your research. Use the tabs above to find articles, books, and librarian-approved websites. Feel free to contact me directly (see boxes to right) if you have any questions or want to set up an appointment to meet for more help.
Encyclopedia of Science and Technology Communication by Susanna Hornig Priest (Editor)For a free 30-day online trial to this title, visit www.sagepub.com/freetrial In the academic world, the term "science communication" refers both to a set of professions (such as science journalism and public information work) and to an interdisciplinary scholarly research specialization. Much of this research is aimed at improving our understanding of the best ways to communicate complex information, especially to people who are not scientists. Science communication specialists are concerned with giving people useful information about health, environment, and technology - as well as science itself. In order to do this, we also need to improve our understanding of how people think, form opinions, and process information. Additionally, professional practitioners in science communication are engaged in strategic and ethical decisions every day, such as: How should reporters cover the issue of climate change? Should the views of scientists who do not believe that climate change has been caused by human activity be included alongside the views of those who do, in order to give a "balanced" story, or does this mislead the public into thinking that both of these positions are equally accepted within the scientific community? The Encyclopedia of Science and Technology Communication provides information on the entire range of interrelated issues in this interdisciplinary field in one place, along with clear suggestions on where to begin the search for more. Geared towards undergraduate and graduate students in journalism, communication, mass communication, and media studies, as well as towards working journalists, public information officers, and public relations specialists, this encyclopedia introduces this vast, fascinating field while challenging the reader to question assumptions inherent in communication across disciplinary boundaries. Key Themes Associations and Organizations Audiences, Opinions, and Effects Challenges, Issues, and Controversies Changing Awareness, Opinion, And Behavior Critical Influences and Events Global and International Aspects Government Agencies (US) History, Philosophy, and Sociology of Science Important Figures Journal Publications Key Cases and Current Trends Law, Policy, Ethics, and Beliefs Major Infrastructural Initiatives Practices, Strategies, and Tools Professional Roles and Careers Public Engagement Approaches Theory and Research Venues and Channels
Publication Date: 2010-07-14
Dictionary of the History of Science by William F. Bynum (Editor); E. Janet Browne (Editor); Roy Porter (Editor)For readers interested in the development of major scientific concepts and the role of science in the western world, here is the first conceptually organized historical dictionary of scientific thought. The purpose of the dictionary is to illuminate this history by providing a concise, single volume reference book of short historical accounts of the important themes, ideas, and discoveries of science. Its conceptual approach differentiates the dictionary from previous reference works such as books of scientific biography and makes it a convenient manual both for the general reader and for scientists interested in the origin of concepts in their own and other scientific fields. Originally published in 1982. The Princeton Legacy Library uses the latest print-on-demand technology to again make available previously out-of-print books from the distinguished backlist of Princeton University Press. These paperback editions preserve the original texts of these important books while presenting them in durable paperback editions. The goal of the Princeton Legacy Library is to vastly increase access to the rich scholarly heritage found in the thousands of books published by Princeton University Press since its founding in 1905.
Publication Date: 1985-10-21
Encyclopedia of Global Change by Andrew S. Goudie (Editor); David J. Cuff (Editor)Mapping the relationship between human society and the Earth, the Encyclopedia of Global Change is the first general reference guide to the impact of politics, population, economics, and technology on the planet. Containing over 300 original, signed articles by distinguished scholars, it isthe comprehensive work for this multi-discipline, high-profile field. The Encyclopedia synethsizes current knowledge on natural and human-made changes in the Earth's physical , chemical, and biological systems and the effects of these changes on society. Areas such as altered ecosystems, climate change, food supply, water production and consumption, population, andthe political impact of global change are covered in detail. And the clearly written articles also include responses to global modification, agreements and associations, institutions, policies, biographies, and case studies. Enhanced by 1,500 illustrations, extensive cross-references, bibliographies, and an index, the Encyclopedia of Global Change links essential knowledge across many fields-geography, geology, geophysics, atmospheric science, political science, economics, technology, and others-in a resource that isboth accessible and authoritative. The jargon-free language makes it an excellent work for the professional scholar as well as the interested general reader.
Publication Date: 2001-12-13
AccessMedicineThis link opens in a new windowAccessMedicine is continually updated resource that gives you access to leading medical books.