Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Mary Baldwin University Logo
Martha S. Grafton Library

Art and Art History: Articles

Guide to resources in art and art history, including reference works, databases, and websites.

Using Databases

The library has access to a number of different databases that will help you with your art research.

Use the article databases to search for citations, abstracts and full-text articles. 

The newspaper databases will help you find art exhibition reviews, art book reviews, and artist information.  The New York Times Historic Backfile is particuarly helpful in finding primary sources (for example, reviews of Frida Kahlo's work from the 1930's).

If full-text is not available in your database, first check the Journal Finder to check for access in one of our other databases.  If still not available, you can request articles through Interlibrary Loan.

Art Journals

Links to a few of our online journals via full-text databases. To search, click on "Search Within This Publication." 

Finding Articles

articles

Image Copyright Catherinecronin. Used under the terms of a CC BY-SA 2.0 License.

Use the article databases to search for citations, abstracts, full-text articles, and lesson plans.

Click on the pdf link to gain access to the full-text of an article. If there isn't a full-text link search Grafton's Journal Finder to see if we have access to the journal in another database.

If the Journal Finder doesn't have the journal you're looking for use Interlibrary Loan to request the article from another library. Interlibrary Loan is free and often only takes a few days.

Learn more about how to find the full-text of journal articles:

Art and Art History Article Databases

General Databases include articles on a wide range of topics and subjects. If your topic belongs to more than one subject or you’re not having much luck with subject specific databases you may want to try a general article database.

Chat with a Librarian

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.