Research Guides: Art and Art History: Images

Using Images

The image databases will give you access to online images. ArtSTOR is particularly helpful because you can zoom in to, save, and print the images.

ARTstor This link opens in a new window Digital images (over 1 million) in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities and the social sciences.

Ad*Access Images and information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955.
Europeana Paintings, music, films and books from Europe's galleries, libraries, archives and museums.
Minneapolis Institute of Arts Digital Collections Digital collections of art, music, video and news from the Minneapolis Institute of Art
Smithsonian Archives of American Art Archives of American Art collects, preserves, and makes available primary sources documenting the history of the visual arts in the United States.
Unurth: Street Art Images of street art from around the world.
Digital Library for the Decorative Arts and Material Culture The Digital Library for the Decorative Arts and Material Culture collects and creates electronic resources for study and research of the decorative arts, with a particular focus on Early America. Included are electronic texts and facsimiles, image databases, and Web resources.
British Library Online Gallery
Library of Congress Digital Collections Access online collections: view maps & photographs; read letters, diaries & newspapers; hear personal accounts of events; listen to sound recordings & watch historic films.
Sistine Chapel Information about the Sistine Chapel from the Vatican Website. Includes a virtual tour.
National Gallery of Art Images Provides access to over 50,000 images of artwork that are available for download, most without use restrictions

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.