The Chicago Manual of Style, 17th Edition by
Technologies may change, but the need for clear and accurate communication never goes out of style. That is why for more than one hundred years The Chicago Manual of Style has remained the definitive guide for anyone who works with words. In the seven years since the previous edition debuted, we have seen an extraordinary evolution in the way we create and share knowledge. This seventeenth edition of The Chicago Manual of Style has been prepared with an eye toward how we find, create, and cite information that readers are as likely to access from their pockets as from a bookshelf. It offers updated guidelines on electronic workflows and publication formats, tools for PDF annotation and citation management, web accessibility standards, and effective use of metadata, abstracts, and keywords. It recognizes the needs of those who are self-publishing or following open access or Creative Commons publishing models. The citation chapters reflect the ever-expanding universe of electronic sources--including social media posts and comments, private messages, and app content--and also offer updated guidelines on such issues as DOIs, time stamps, and e-book locators. Other improvements are independent of technological change. The chapter on grammar and usage includes an expanded glossary of problematic words and phrases and a new section on syntax as well as updated guidance on gender-neutral pronouns and bias-free language. Key sections on punctuation and basic citation style have been reorganized and clarified. To facilitate navigation, headings and paragraph titles have been revised and clarified throughout. And the bibliography has been updated and expanded to include the latest and best resources available. This edition continues to reflect expert insights gathered from Chicago's own staff and from an advisory board of publishing experts from across the profession. It also includes suggestions inspired by emails, calls, and even tweets from readers. No matter how much the means of communication change, The Chicago Manual of Style remains the ultimate resource for those who care about getting the details right.
A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations, Ninth Edition by
Chapters include updated advice on finding, evaluating, and citing a wide range of digital sources and also recognize the evolving use of software for citation management, graphics, and paper format and submission. The ninth edition is fully aligned with the recently released Chicago Manual of Style, 17th edition, as well as with the latest edition of The Craft of Research.
If your Professor wants you to use Benjamin style, this is the book to use.
A Student's Guide to History by The Chicago Manual of Style is published and created by the University of Chicago Press for publishers, scholars, and students. The manual includes formatting guidelines for writers in all disciplines, but the citation style is used primarily by those in the humanities. Note: There are two formatting styles for the Chicago Manual of Style. The Notes-Bibliography system uses footnotes and an accompanying Bibliography page. The Author-Date system uses in-text parenthetical citations and an accompanying bibliography (References) page.
Turabian style was created by Kate L. Turabian (1893-1987), a secretary at the University of Chicago who worked with the graduate school dissertations and edited official publications. The manual is an introduction to Chicago-style formatting and citation generation, with a specific focus on student writers rather than professional writers. Turabian also features both Notes-Bibliography and Author-Date formatting.
PDF handout made by Grafton Library. This handout is also available in print by the reference desk.