Research Guides: Grace Christian Research Guide: Searching

Keywords

Keep it simple.

You want to include only a few (2-3) words in your searches - the things that that get the heart of what you're looking for

Example:

What is the relationship between amount time spent on social media and likelihood of an eating disorder?

Social Media
Eating Disorder

Example:

How was JFK's foreign policy influenced by his religious faith?

John F. Kennedy
Religious Faith
Foreign Policy

Build off these main topics

Consider synonyms/Related Words

Look at Wikipedia/Credo Reference/CQ Researcher

Start broad, then narrow down based on what you're seeing

EBSCO AllSearch

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a great resource for finding scholarly resources. It is also a great place to check for the full-text of an article before submitting an ILL request.

More Databases

JSTOR This link opens in a new window A scholarly journal archive. Economics, history, math, philosophy, political science, language and literature, sociology, botany, and ecology. Holdings: Varies; from the 1800s - late 2000s
PsycNET This link opens in a new window APA PsycNET offers the combined resources of the PsycArticles, PsycINFO, and PsycBooks. Covers psychology and related fields such as psychiatry, sociology, education, and communication.
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window HeinOnline is the world's largest fully searchable, image-based government document and legal research database. It contains comprehensive coverage from inception of U.S. statutory materials, U.S. Congressional Documents and more than 2,600 scholarly journals. HeinOnline provides topic specific databases including all of the world's constitutions, all U.S. treaties, collections of classic treatises and presidential documents, Criminal Justice, Religion and the Law, and Women and the Law among others.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window Essays on current, hot topics. Holdings: 1991 - present