ARTstorThis link opens in a new windowDigital images (over 1 million) in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities and the social sciences.
Ad*AccessImages and information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955.
British Library Images OnlineImages Online gives you instant access to thousands of the greatest images from the British Library's vast collections. You will have access to all the Library’s "Treasures." You will also see some beautifully decorated Manuscripts and Rare Books. Captivating watercolours from Asia, subtle ornate details in Illuminations; intriguing maps and landscapes from journeys across the world.
Digital Culture of Metropolitan New YorkDigital Culture of Metropolitan New York (DCMNY) provides online access to digital collections of libraries, archives, museums and historical societies located in and around New York City.
Digital Library for the Decorative Arts and Material CultureThe Digital Library for the Decorative Arts and Material Culture collects and creates electronic resources for study and research of the decorative arts, with a particular focus on Early America. Included are electronic texts and facsimiles, image databases, and Web resources.
Digital Public Library of America (DPLA)The Digital Public Library of America brings together photographs, manuscripts, books, sounds, moving images, and more from America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available.
LIFE Photo ArchiveSearch millions of photographs from the LIFE photo archive, stretching from the 1750s to today. Most were never published and are now available for the first time through the joint work of LIFE and Google.
NYPL Digital GalleryProvides access to 900,000+ images digitized from primary sources and printed rarities in the collections of The New York Public Library, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints and photographs, illustrated books, printed ephemera, and more.
World Digital LibraryLinks to over 5,000 primary documents and images from collections around the world. Sponsored by the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization. Search by date, era, country, continent, topic, and type of resource.
European Film GatewayThe EFG Portal gives you quick access to hundreds of thousands of film historical documents as preserved in European film archives and cinémathèques: photos, posters, programmes, periodicals, censorship documents, rare feature and documentary films, newsreels and other materials.
Travel Film ArchiveThe Travel Film Archive is a collection of travelogues and educational and industrial films - many of them in color - that show the world the way it was between 1900 and 1970.
Prelinger ArchivesA collection of ephemeral video materials (industry, advertising, and educational films ) from the 20th century.
British PathéBritish Pathé is an extensive newsreel archive from the late 19th through the 20th century.
Universal Newsreels: Internet ArchiveThis collection of newsreels from 1929-1967 was created by Universal City Studios. It was produced twice a week and covered a wide variety of political and social topics.
Chat with a Librarian
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Sound Recordings
National JukeboxThe National Jukebox freely provides access to recordings from the collections of the Library of Congress National Audio-Visual Conservation Center and other contributing libraries and archives.
Wikimedia CommonsFree access to images, sound, and video files in the public domain or with Creative Commons licenses.
British Library Archival Sound RecordingsOnline collections from one of the world's largest sound archives, including sounds from: music, drama and literature, oral history, wildlife and the environment.
International Music Score Library ProjectThe International Music Score Library provides access to all public domain music scores, as well as contemporary works that have been made available.
JamendoJamendo is a community of free, legal and unlimited music published under Creative Commons licenses.
Alan Lomax Sound RecordingsThe Sound Recordings catalog comprises over 17,400 digital audio files, from 1946 into the 1990s. Alan Lomax is most famous for his work in the penitentiaries, plantations, and lonely farms of the Mississippi Delta, where he made recordings traditional African American culture. He also made recordings in the remote communities of the Caribbean, Europe, and North Africa.
Free Music ArchiveThe Free Music Archive offers free downloads under Creative Commons and other licenses.
