Research Guides: Economics: Websites

Statistics on the Web

U.S. Census Data The Census Bureau is the leading source of quality data about the nation's people and economy.
Statistical Abstracts of the United States Provides statistics on a variety of topics including health facilities & expenditures, social insurance, and human services.
Bureau of Labor Statistics: Employment The BLS programs reports national totals of the number of employed people and also provide statistics on subjects such as occupational employment and wages, labor demand and turnover, and the dynamic state of the labor market.
FCSM The Federal Committee on Statistical Methodology (FCSM) is an interagency committee dedicated to improving the quality of Federal statistics.

Historical Statistics of the United States Millenium Edition This link opens in a new window Includes over 37,000 data series on a variety of topics such as migration, health, crime, slavery, American Indians, and poverty.

Center for Microeconomic Data - Federal Reserve Bank of New York publicly available data on mortgage delinquencies and foreclosures. Data available on housing prices, general economic indicators, and umemployment rates since the mortgage crisis; delinquency rates for mortgages, auto loans, bank cards, and student loans; and nonprime mortgage delinquency rates.
BEA: Regional Economic Accounts The regional economic accounts tell us about the geographic distribution of U.S. economic activity and growth.
International Trade Center Statistics and information on international trade, organized by country.
Public Data Explorer - Google Labs "Play with the tool to create visualizations of public data, link to them, or embed them in their own webpages." Use data from the sources listed in data directory on the website, or upload your own. From Google Labs.
AidData Provides free access to the world's largest database of individual foreign aid projects. Includes software applications to analyze these data and a blog for discussion of international development. Hosted by the College of William and Mary, Brigham Young University, and Development Gateway.
Minerals Yearbook
These reviews of minerals and metals are compiled by the U.S. Geological Survey and provide "statistical data and information on approximately 90 commodities."

Google Scholar

Search the web for articles using Google Scholar. Remember to check the Print and Online Journal List to find full-text of any articles you find.

Websites

Resources for Economists
The American Economic Association maintains a long and growing list of online resources that will be useful to everyone in the economics profession.
International Trade Center Statistics and information on international trade, organized by country.
World Development Reports The World Bank's annual World Development Report (WDR) is a guide to the economic, social and environmental state of the world today. Each year the WDR provides in depth analysis of a specific aspect of development.
Brookings Institution The Brookings Institution is a nonprofit public policy organization based in Washington, DC. Our mission is to conduct in-depth research that leads to new ideas for solving problems facing society at the local, national and global level.
Annuity.org Annuity.org is a free, comprehensive web resource which provides insight on a variety of financial topics to help people make smarter financial decisions.
Whitehouse Council of Economic Advisors The Council of Economic Advisers, an agency within the Executive Office of the President, is charged with providing the President objective economic advice on the formulation of both domestic and international economic policy.
EDGAR (Securities & Exchange Commission) Provides access to registration statements, periodic reports, and other forms for all companies, foreign and domestic.
Coface: Economic Studies Site presents country risk information in three main sections: Country Risks, Sectors and Business Climate. The sectors section contains global snapshots and ratings of industries.
Center on Budget and Policy Priorities We are a nonpartisan research and policy institute. We pursue federal and state policies designed both to reduce poverty and inequality and to restore fiscal responsibility in equitable and effective ways. We apply our deep expertise in budget and tax issues and in programs and policies that help low-income people, in order to help inform debates and achieve better policy outcomes.
PCAOB - Public Company Accounting Oversight Board The PCAOB oversees the audits of public companies and SEC-registered brokers and dealers.
TheGlobalEconomy.com The website provides an overview of the global economy...It shows information about key economic indicators for over 200 countries and provides an interactive tool that can be used to compare countries and track their economies over time.
IDEAS Largest database of Economics research freely available on the Internet. Over 1.2 million items of research available to be browsed and searched, 1 million of which can be downloaded in full-text.
USDA Economic Research Service Get data and reports on animal products, crops, farm economy, international markets and trade, and more.
Economic Policy Institute The Economic Policy Institute (EPI) is a nonprofit, nonpartisan think tank created in 1986 to include the needs of low- and middle-income workers in economic policy discussions.