It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library of Congress Digital CollectionsAccess online collections: view maps & photographs; read letters, diaries & newspapers; hear personal accounts of events; listen to sound recordings & watch historic films.
ARTstorDigital images (over 1 million) in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities and the social sciences.
Ad*AccessImages and information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955.
The Digital Public Library of America brings together photographs, manuscripts, books, sounds, moving images, and more from America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world. It strives to contain the full breadth of human expression, from the written word, to works of art and culture, to records of America’s heritage, to the efforts and data of science.
The DPLA offers a single point of access to millions of items—photographs, manuscripts, books, sounds, moving images, and more—from libraries, archives, and museums around the United States. Users can browse and search the DPLA’s collections by timeline, map, format, and topic; save items to customized lists; and share their lists with others. Users can also explore digital exhibitions curated by the DPLA’s content partners and staff.
NYPL Digital GalleryProvides access to over 672,153 images digitized from primary sources and printed rarities in the collections of The New York Public Library, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints and photographs, illustrated books, printed ephemera, and more.
European Film GatewayGives "access to hundreds of thousands of film historical documents as preserved in European film archives and cinémathèques: photos, posters, programmes, periodicals, censorship documents, rare feature and documentary films, newsreels and other materials."
This database provides thousands of educational films in a large variety of subject areas as well as archival films and newsreels.
To link directly to any film or segment, use the Title URL link below the video. Do not use the URL in your address bar. Titles are subject to change. For more help, contact a librarian.
Internet Archive: Cultural and Academic FilmsThis library of academic and cultural films features collections from the Academic Film Archive and the Media Burn Independent Film Archive, as well as a selection of documentaries created by Dorothy Fadiman
Internet Archive: Moving ImagesThis library contains thousands of digital movies uploaded by Archive users which range from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to cartoons and concerts. Many of these videos are available for free download.
LearnersTVFree Web resources with more than 10,000 videos of lectures on a wide range of subjects. Presented by a variety of universities, recorded for telecourses.
MOVIECLIPS.comProvides free, legally licensed access, to 12,000-plus film clips from over 2,000 films.
TED: Ideas worth spreadingTED (technology, entertainment, design) talks bring speakers from all over the world to give a lecture of 20 mins or less on a "fascinating" topic. The website hosts videos of these talks.