Research Guides: Asian Studies: Websites

Google Scholar

Search the web for articles using Google Scholar. Remember to check the Print and Online Journal List to find full-text of any articles you find.

News

The Times of India
Asahi Shimbun Japan's leading national newspaper.
The Japan Times Japanese Daily Newspaper, available in English
Korea Times The Korea Times, the world’s window on Korea, is adaily newspaper with in-depth stories about Korea’s past, present, and future.

Websites

The National Bureau of Asian Research The National Bureau of Asian Research (NBR) is a nonprofit, nonpartisan institution that conducts advanced research on policy-relevant issues in Asia.
The Visual Sourcebook of Chinese Civilization The goal of this "visual sourcebook" is to add to the material teachers can use to help their students understand Chinese history, culture, and society.
Columbia University Libraries South & Southeast Asian Studies Links to internet resources on South Asia.

Online Statistical Resources

WHO: Global Health Observatory A resource for data and analysis on the global health situation. Provides access to databases, reports, maps and country statistics.
CIA World Factbook The World Factbook provides and overview of the geography, people, and economies of countries around the world.
United Nations Demographic Yearbook A world summary of population, birth, death, marriage, and divorce data.
United Nations Statistical Yearbook A world summary of population, trade, labor, and industry statistics. There is usually a 3-5 year lag in reporting data.
U.S. Government Export Portal Browse or download time series statistics on U.S. international trade, nationwide, detailed by industry classification and foreign market or supplier.
Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development The OECD is an international organization providing statistics, reports, and news about the global economy.
GlobalEdge View indicators and indices relating to the health of a country's economy, as well as basic information about their political systems.
International Trade Center Statistics and information on international trade, organized by country.
GapMinder Gapminder identifies systematic misconceptions about important global trends and proportions and uses reliable data to develop easy to understand teaching materials to rid people of their misconceptions.
AidData Provides free access to the world's largest database of individual foreign aid projects. Includes software applications to analyze these data and a blog for discussion of international development. Hosted by the College of William and Mary, Brigham Young University, and Development Gateway.
The World Bank: Open Data The data catalog provides access to over 7,000 indicators from World Bank Data Sets. Browse by country, topic or indicators.
Public Data Explorer - Google Labs "Play with the tool to create visualizations of public data, link to them, or embed them in their own webpages." Use data from the sources listed in data directory on the website, or upload your own. From Google Labs.
ForeignAssistance.gov The Foreign Assistance Dashboard provides a view of U.S. Government foreign assistance funds and enables users to examine, research, and track aid investments in a standard and easy-to-understand format. The Dashboard is still in its early stages of development.