It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Reference books like dictionaries and encyclopedias are great ways to get background information on your topic.
Use almanacs and statistical sources to get primary information.
Chronologies provide timelines--use them to get a feel for what happened when.
You will need to cite information you learn from reference works, just as you would from books and articles. Citation information is usually at the bottom of the screen if you are using an online reference source.
Literature Resource CenterThe LRC is a select compilation of the literary criticism series published by Gale. Find biographical and critical information about writers and literary and dramatic works.
Online reference resources
Oxford Dictionary of the RenaissanceThis dictionary provides rich detail on all aspects of the Renaissance in 14th to 17th century Europe. It includes comprehensive coverage of the art, literature, science, culture, philosophy, religion, economics, history, and conflict of the period.
Encyclopaedia of the Hellenic WorldThe first "three volumes" cover place names, buildings, events, cultural phenomena of the Asia Minor, the Black Sea, and Constantinople. Essays are scholarly in tone. Search by keyword, or browse categories.
Reference Books in Grafton
Tudor England : an Encyclopedia
Call Number: Ref. DA315 .T753 2001
The Encyclopedia of Romanticism: culture in Britian, 1780s-1830s
Call Number: Ref. DA529 .E53 1992
Women in World History : a Biographical Encyclopedia
Call Number: Ref. HQ1115.W6 1999
Encyclopedia of Ireland
Call Number: Ref. DA906.E52 2003
The Cambridge Ancient History
Call Number: Ref. D57 .C252
Dictionary of the Middle Ages
Call Number: Ref. D114 .D5
The Simon and Schuster encyclopedia of World War II
Call Number: Ref. D740 .S57
Encyclopedia of the Holocaust
Call Number: Ref. D804.3 E53 1990
English Historical Documents
Call Number: Ref. DA26 .E552
The Cambridge history of the British Empire
Call Number: Ref. DA30 .C3 1929
The London Encyclopedia
Call Number: Ref. DA679 .L78 1986
Encyclopedia of European Social History from 1350 to 2000
Call Number: Ref. HN 373.E63 2001
Includes topics such as population and geography, cities and urbanization, social structure, sexuality, body and mind, and social problems and reform.
Modern English biography: containing many thousand concise memoirs of persons who have died between the years 1851-1900, with an index of the most interesting matter