Research Guides: Education: In-Depth Research

Select Journals

Journal of Elementary Science Education Focuses on issues relating to preparing Science Teachers, as well as other topics involved in teaching science in elementary school settings.
Art Education Articles, special reports and thematic issues on all aspects of art education published by the National Art Education Association.
Reading Teacher Peer-reviewed, for those involved with literacy education up to age 12. Takes active stance on issues of education today.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window A multidisciplinary database providing full text access to scholarly and general interest journals, books, and reports. Holdings: 1887-present
Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. It also covers areas of curriculum instruction as well as administration, policy, funding, and related social issues.
ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) This link opens in a new window Articles and documents in all areas of education. Holdings: 1966 - present
Teacher Reference Center (TRC) This link opens in a new window This index of over 260 titles from the most popular teacher and administrator trade journals, periodicals, and books. This database provides coverage on key education topics such as Assessment, Continuing Education, Current Pedagogical Research, Curriculum Development, Instructional Media, Language Arts, Literacy Standards, Science & Mathematics, and more for K-12 Teachers & Librarians.

Conditions of Education An integrated collection of education indicators and analyses published by the National Center for Educational Statistics.
Education Videos Films on Demand Browse education videos on Films on Demand.
National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) Includes reports such as the Nation's Report Card and the Condition of Education.
National Council for the Social Studies (NCSS) Founded in 1921, NCSS engages and supports educators in strengthening and advocating social studies.
National Council of Teachers of English (NCTE) Website Since 1911, NCTE is devoted to improving the teaching and learning of English and the language arts at all levels of education.
National Council of Teachers of Mathematics This site provides access to resources for mathematics educators at all levels.
National Education Association (NEA) News, resources, and issues about education.
National Science Teachers Association (NSTA) NSTA, founded in 1944, is the largest organization in the world committed to promoting excellence and innovation in science teaching and learning for all.
Newbery Medal and Honor Books, 1922-Present Award winners (including the Newbery and Caldecott) and suggested reading.
TED Talks: Education Talks and performances from TED conferences.
U.S. Department of Education Links to reports, data, information about the profession.

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Teaching Channel Teaching Channel has videos of teachers demonstrating their best practices and inspirational techniques. Organized by grade level, subjects and topics. Videos are accompanied by lesson plans.
Teaching Hard History This collection includes more than 100 primary sources selected to support teaching and learning about slavery
VisionLearning Open access educational resource for teachers in STEM (science, technology, engineering and mathematics) education.
OER Commons Browse OER by subject areas, education level, or material type. See ratings given by other educators.