It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ARTstorDigital images (over 1 million) in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities and the social sciences.
Library of Congress Digital CollectionsAccess online collections: view maps & photographs; read letters, diaries & newspapers; hear personal accounts of events; listen to sound recordings & watch historic films.
Smithsonian Anthropology CollectionProvides access to information on over 420,000 archaeology and ethnology catalog records, representing some 2 million individual objects documenting world cultures.
Duke Papyrus Archive"Provides electronic access to texts about and images of nearly 1400 papyri from ancient Egypt." Also provides links to other papyrus sites on the internet.
NYPL Digital GalleryProvides access to over 672,153 images digitized from primary sources and printed rarities in the collections of The New York Public Library, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints and photographs, illustrated books, printed ephemera, and more.
The Archaeology ChannelThe Archaeological Legacy Institute offers video and audio about various archaeology topics, and links to related sites.
FolkstreamsA national preserve of documentary films about American roots cultures. This site also includes transcriptions, study and teaching guides, suggested readings, and links to related websites. Search or browse the site by region, subject, title, filmmaker, or distributor.
EVIA Digital Archive ProjectThe EVIA Digital Archive Project features unedited, annotated, ethnographic field video representing religious, ethnic, and cultural groups worldwide. Project is a collaboration of experts at Indiana University and the University of Michigan.
Internet Archive: Cultural and Academic FilmsThis library of academic and cultural films features collections from the Academic Film Archive and the Media Burn Independent Film Archive, as well as a selection of documentaries created by Dorothy Fadiman
The Travel Film ArchiveThe Travel Film Archive is a collection of travelogues and educational and industrial films - many of them in color - that show the world the way it was between 1900 and 1970. Search films by keyword, or location, filmmaker, decade subject.
National JukeboxThe Library of Congress provides historical sound recordings to the public, free of charge. Recordings were made between 1901-1925 and issued on record labels now owned by Sony Music Entertainment.
Alan Lomax Sound RecordingsThe Sound Recordings catalog comprises over 17,400 digital audio files, from 1946 into the 1990s. Alan Lomax is most famous for his work in the penitentiaries, plantations, and lonely farms of the Mississippi Delta, where he made recordings traditional African American culture. He also made recordings in the remote communities of the Caribbean, Europe, and North Africa.