Stage Costuming Research Guide
Databases
Digital Theatre+ This link opens in a new window
Full-length productions as well as materials on the study and teaching of practice, history and theory in theatre studies.
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
Full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A scholarly journal archive. Economics, history, math, philosophy, political science, language and literature, sociology, botany, and ecology.
Holdings: Varies; from the 1800s - late 2000s
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE provides full text, subscription access to current content from scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences.
eBook Collections
Early English Books Online (EEBO) This link opens in a new window
Contains the full text of about 100,000 out of 125,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640) and Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700).
Ebook Central (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
Contains over 80,000 academic multidisciplinary ebooks across the academic spectrum, including books in business, economics, careers, computers, law, medicine, and the natural and social sciences.
EBSCO Academic eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
This growing collection contains a large selection of multidisciplinary eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subject matter. 135,000 + eBooks.
Digital Image Collections
ARTstor This link opens in a new window
Digital images (over 1 million) in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities and the social sciences.
NYPL Digital Gallery
Provides access to 900,000+ images digitized from primary sources and printed rarities in the collections of The New York Public Library, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints and photographs, illustrated books, printed ephemera, and more.
Library of Congress Digital Collections
Access online collections: view maps & photographs; read letters, diaries & newspapers; hear personal accounts of events; listen to sound recordings & watch historic films.
Billy Rose Theatre Collection—NYPLThe New York Public Library's Billy Rose Theatre Collection's photograph archive holds personalities, productions, theatre buildings, and production studios.
Costume Collection—V&AFrom the Theatre and Performance collections at the Victoria and Albert Museum. Includes over 3,500 stage costumes and accessories dating from the mid-18th century to today.
The Costume Institute—The MetThe Costume Institute's collection of more than thirty-three thousand objects represents seven centuries of fashionable dress and accessories for men, women, and children, from the fifteenth century to the present.
Fashion History Timeline—FITA project from the Fashion Institute of Technology's History of Art Department.
Federal Theatre Project, 1935–1939 Collection—LOCA digital collection available through The Library of Congress containing thousands of materials from The Federal Theatre Project. Includes images of staging, costumes, and costume illustrations.
Mae's Millenary Shop Collection—NMAAHCMae Reeves' hat collection, donated to teh National Museum of African American History and Culture.
Motley Collection of Theatre and Costume Design—UIUCDigital collection from the University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign Library. Covers 150 productions in England and the United States from the Motley Group from 1932–1976.
Set and Costume Design Collection: 1625-1992—NYPLA digital collection from the New York Public Library spanning several hundred years, with the bulk of materials originating from 1930–1982.
Search the Grafton Library Catalog
20,000 years of fashion : the history of costume and personal adornment by 
The Dictionary of Fashion History by 
How to Read a Dress by 
The Complete Costume Dictionary by 
American Costume, 1915-1970 by 
Sewing for Fashion Designers by 
A Practical Approach to Costume Design and Construction by 
Costume Design: the Basics by 
Pattern Cutting for Men's Costume by 
Patterns of Fashion, 1860 to 1940 by 
Patterns of Fashion: the cut and construction of clothes for men and women, c1560-1620 by 