REED: Records of Early English Drama Patrons and PerformancesThis online resource from the REED project is "designed to include a wide range of data about professional performers on tour in the provinces – their patrons, the performance venues they used and the routes they took across the kingdom."
Folger Shakespeare LibraryHome to the world’s largest and finest collection of Shakespeare materials and to major collections of other rare Renaissance books, manuscripts, and works of art.
Play ShakespeareCollection of historical facts and statistics relating to Shakespeare. Sections include Shakespeare's Biography, Play Chronology, Play Lengths, Biggest Roles, Shakespeare's Players, Elizabethan Theatres, and Scansion Overview.
DEEP: Database of Early English PlaybooksDEEP provides access to every playbook produced in England, Scotland, and Ireland from the beginning of printing through 1660
A Digital Anthology of Early Modern English DramaA Digital Anthology of Early Modern English Drama is a hub for exploring over four hundred early modern English plays that were performed in London's professional theaters between 1576 and 1642. Browse plays written by Shakespeare’s contemporaries, explore the repertoire of London’s professional companies, read the first printed edition of one of our featured plays, or download the plays and their source code.
The British Library's hosted ETSC is unavailable following a cyberattack that occurred in late 2023. This interface—hosted by UCSD and CMU—provides a limited digital alternative.
The English Short Title Catalogue (ESTC) indexes most, if not all, books published in North America and the British Isles between 1473-1800.
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography OnlineThis link opens in a new window56,000 biographies of people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond, from the earliest times to present.
Oxford Dictionary of the RenaissanceThis dictionary provides rich detail on all aspects of the Renaissance in 14th to 17th century Europe. It includes comprehensive coverage of the art, literature, science, culture, philosophy, religion, economics, history, and conflict of the period.
Bibliographic Index of English Drama Before 1660"This index is a complete annotated list of all playwrights, actors, patrons, musicians, and miscellaneous other people active in English drama before 1660. Each entry contains basic information about the person's dates and dramatic activities, along with a list of books and articles containing biographical information."
JSTORThis link opens in a new windowA scholarly journal archive. Economics, history, math, philosophy, political science, language and literature, sociology, botany, and ecology.
Holdings: Varies; from the 1800s - late 2000s
Humanities International CompleteThis link opens in a new windowFull text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world.
