Folger Shakespeare LibraryHome to the world’s largest and finest collection of Shakespeare materials and to major collections of other rare Renaissance books, manuscripts, and works of art.
Play ShakespeareCollection of historical facts and statistics relating to Shakespeare. Sections include Shakespeare's Biography, Play Chronology, Play Lengths, Biggest Roles, Shakespeare's Players, Elizabethan Theatres, and Scansion Overview.
A Digital Anthology of Early Modern English DramaA Digital Anthology of Early Modern English Drama is a hub for exploring over four hundred early modern English plays that were performed in London's professional theaters between 1576 and 1642. Browse plays written by Shakespeare’s contemporaries, explore the repertoire of London’s professional companies, read the first printed edition of one of our featured plays, or download the plays and their source code.
Horace Howard Furness Shakespeare LibraryA collection of primary and secondary texts that illuminate the theater, literature, and history of Shakespeare, Shakespearean texts, theatrical production and criticism.
Illustrated Shakespeare CollectionThis online collection of selected electronic facsimiles seeks to share the marriage between book art and Shakespearean text with a wider audience.
Early English Books Online (EEBO)This link opens in a new windowContains the full text of about 100,000 out of 125,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640) and Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700).
EBSCO Academic eBook CollectionThis link opens in a new windowThis growing collection contains a large selection of multidisciplinary eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subject matter. 135,000 + eBooks.
Article Databases - Full Text
JSTORThis link opens in a new windowA scholarly journal archive. Economics, history, math, philosophy, political science, language and literature, sociology, botany, and ecology.
Holdings: Varies; from the 1800s - late 2000s
Project MUSEThis link opens in a new windowProject MUSE provides full text, subscription access to current content from scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences.
World Shakespeare Bibliography OnlineThis link opens in a new windowProvides annotated entries for all important books, articles, book reviews, dissertations, theatrical productions, reviews of productions, audiovisual materials, electronic media, and other scholarly and popular materials related to Shakespeare and published or produced from 1962 to the present.
Oxford Dictionary of the RenaissanceThis dictionary provides rich detail on all aspects of the Renaissance in 14th to 17th century Europe. It includes comprehensive coverage of the art, literature, science, culture, philosophy, religion, economics, history, and conflict of the period.
Bibliographic Index of English Drama Before 1660"This index is a complete annotated list of all playwrights, actors, patrons, musicians, and miscellaneous other people active in English drama before 1660. Each entry contains basic information about the person's dates and dramatic activities, along with a list of books and articles containing biographical information."