It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This online resource from the REED project is "designed to include a wide range of data about professional performers on tour in the provinces – their patrons, the performance venues they used and the routes they took across the kingdom."
English Short Title Catalogue (ESTC)"The English Short Title Catalogue (ESTC) lists over 460,000 items published between 1473 and 1800 mainly, but not exclusively, in English published mainly in the British Isles and North America from the collections of the British Library and over 2,000 other libraries." From the British Library. Covers Wing, Pollard & Redgrave, and the 18th Century Short Title Catalogue.
Folger Shakespeare LibraryHomepage of the library in Washington, DC. Home to the world’s largest and finest collection of Shakespeare materials and to major collections of other rare Renaissance books, manuscripts, and works of art.
Bpi1700: British Printed Images to 1700"This website, funded by the Arts and Humanities Research Council, makes available a database of thousands of prints and book illustrations from early modern Britain in fully-searchable form."
Play ShakespeareCollection of historical facts and statistics relating to Shakespeare. Sections include Shakespeare's Biography, Play Chronology, Play Lengths, Biggest Roles, Shakespeare's Players, Elizabethan Theatres, and Scansion Overview.
Teaching ShakespeareFolger Education offers a world of online resources for teachers, from lesson plans to study guides to videos.
Union First Line Index of English VerseFrom 13th-19th Century (bulk 1500-1800). "A database of the first lines of manuscript verse held by:" Bodleian, Beinecke (Osborn Collection), British Library, Folger Shakespeare Library, Harvard, Huntington, Leeds (Brotherton Collection — 17th and 18th century only), Harold Love and Meredith Sherlock (Clandestine Satire), and Steve May’s Elizabethan Poetry, Hilton Kelliher’s British Library index of 1894-2009, and the Wing Short-title catalogue.
Discover research tools for studying texts.The Queen's Men was an all-star troupe of Elizabethan actors formed in 1583. This website "is designed to disseminate the project's performance research findings and to allow a wider audience access to the experiment through the publication of production resources, including video of the performances." Please ask a librarian for the username and password to the password protected portion of the website.
An online project to digitize the Henslowe-Alleyn diary. Check GLDYS for a print copy in Grafton Library.
DEEP: Database of Early English PlaybooksAn easy-to-use and highly customizable search engine of every playbook produced in England, Scotland, and Ireland from the beginning of printing through 1660, DEEP provides a wealth of information about the original playbooks, their title-pages, paratextual matter, advertising features, bibliographic details, and theatrical backgrounds.
Shakespeare's CircuitsExplore over 500 instances of Shakespeare’s plays in the world outside the Anglophone centers of Great Britain, North America, and Australia.
East London Theatre ArchiveFrom the University of East London. A database of East London theatre ephemera from 1827 to the present day. Includes playbills and programmes to press cuttings and photographs. It also has themed essays to contextualise the material and maps showing theatre locations.
Victorian Illustrated Shakespeare ArchiveAn archive of the illustrations from four editions of Shakespeare's Complete Works published in the 19th century. The search funtionality is somewhat limited but you can browse by play or by editor and within each record, the illustrators are hyperlinked.
A Digital Anthology of Early Modern English Drama"A Digital Anthology of Early Modern English Drama is a hub for exploring over four hundred early modern English plays that were performed in London's professional theaters between 1576 and 1642. Browse plays written by Shakespeare’s contemporaries, explore the repertoire of London’s professional companies, read the first printed edition of one of our featured plays, or download the plays and their source code."
The Collation: from the Folger Shakespeare Library