Congressional Biographical Directory, 1774--presentThis page allows one to search for information about every member of Congress, both current and historical, by last name, first name, party (including a host of third parties), state, position, and year. Every member has a short biographical summary, and on the left of an individual biography one can access research collections that feature this individual as well as a bibliography of related sources, if there are such.
This guide is designed to help you get started on research in Political Science. Feel free to contact me with any questions, or to set up an in-depth research consultation.
Polling the NationsPolls from a variety of sources including Gallup, the Pew Center, Zogby International, major newspapers, and more, providing an opportunity to analyze trends, compare attitudes and contrast behavior on more than 6,000 topics.
Country StudiesOn-line versions of books previously published in hard copy by the Federal Research Division of the Library of Congress under the Country Studies/Area Handbook Program. At present, 101 countries and regions are covered.
The Blackwell dictionary of political science : a user's guide to its terms by Bealey, Frank
Call Number: JA61 .B43 1999
Blackwell Encyclopaedia of Political Thought by Miller, David, ed.
Call Number: Electronic Book
Book of the States
Call Number: Ref. JK2403 .B6
Concise Encyclopedia of Ethics in Politics and the Media by Chadwick, Ruth
Call Number: PN4756 .C645 2001
Encyclopedia of Women in American Politics by Schultz, Jeffery and Laura van Assendelft
Call Number: HQ1236.5.U6 E53 1999
Europa World Year Book
Call Number: Ready Ref. JN1 .E85
Detailed information for each country includes a statistical survey of finance, trade and industry and transport.
From Suffrage to the Senate : an Encyclopedia of American Women in Politics by Schenken, Suzanne O'Dea
Call Number: Ref. HQ1236.5.U6 S32 1999
Politics in America : members of Congress in Washington and at home
Call Number: Ready Ref. JK1012 .P64
1986 - present
The Almanac of American politics
Call Number: Ready Ref. JK271 .B343
1980 - 2008
The Book of the states
Call Number: Ready Ref. JK2403 .B6
State government information.
Women in American Politics by Doris WeatherfordWomen in American Politics is a new reference detailing the milestones and trends in women's political participation in the United States. This two-volume work provides much needed perspective and background on the events and situations that have surrounded women's political activities. It offers insightful analysis on women's political achievements in the United States, including such topics as the campaign to secure nation-wide suffrage; pioneer women state officeholders; women first elected to U.S. Congress, governorships, mayoralties, and other offices; and women first appointed as Cabinet officials, judges, and ambassadors. It also includes profiles of the women who have run for vice president and president. Women in American Politics is organized in a framework both logical and useful to readers and researchers. Original material offers students, scholars, teachers, and other professionals a guide to understanding the complex struggle in women's progress toward achieving political parity with men in the United States. Each chapter is structured in three parts: - part one features graphic information-tables, lists, charts, or maps-detailing the historical record with data not compiled anywhere else, on women officeholders. - part two offers insightful narrative analysis describing how women achieved what they did, examines the complex and sometimes contradictory trends behind the facts of women's political milestones, and explores how social and economic contexts affected the progress of their accomplishments. - part three presents biographical entries describing in more personal terms women's struggle for political equality. Sidebars in each chapter illuminate the drama of political life and consider the evolving female electorate, exploring how women voters have impacted particular issues, specific elections, or other key turning points, and the tradition of appointing widows to open seats. The final chapter uniquely looks at women's political history and differences in achievement from a state and regional perspective. Entries on each state (as well as on District of Columbia and Puerto Rico) highlight milestones and provide insight into the unique aspects of each state.