It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The image databases will give you access to online images. ArtSTOR is
particularly helpful because you can zoom in to, save, and print the
These are general guidelines. Refer to the manual or contact a librarian for more information.
Each citation should have a hanging indent.
Artist's name. Title. Date the image was created. Museum, City. Web. Database name or title of site. Date of access.
Artist's name. Title or description (image). Available from: Website or database. <URL>. (Accessed on date).
Author (Role of Author). (Year image was created). Title of work [Type of work], Retrieved Month Day, Year, from: URL (address of website)
This month in history
ARTstorDigital images (over 1 million) in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities and the social sciences.
NYPL Digital GalleryProvides access to over 672,153 images digitized from primary sources and printed rarities in the collections of The New York Public Library, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints and photographs, illustrated books, printed ephemera, and more.
Mia Digital CollectionsExplore the digital collections of the Minneapolis Institute of Arts including works of art, audio, and video.
Art Project, powered by Google"Explore museums from around the world, discover and view hundreds of artworks at incredible zoom levels, and even create and share your own collection of masterpieces."
Internet Archive"Internet Archive is a non-profit digital library offering free universal access to books, movies & music, as well as 150 billion archived web pages."
American History in VideoThe largest and richest collection of video available online for the study of American history, with 2,000 hours and more than 5,000 titles on completion. The collection allows students and researchers to analyze historical events, and the presentation of historical events over time, through commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries.