Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Image Copyright Catherinecronin. Used under the terms of a CC BY-SA 2.0 License.
Use the article databases to search for citations, abstracts, full-text articles, and lesson plans.
Click on the pdf link to gain access to the full-text of an article. If there isn't a full-text link search Grafton's Journal Finder to see if we have access to the journal in another database.
If the Journal Finder doesn't have the journal you're looking for use Interlibrary Loan to request the article from another library. Interlibrary Loan is free and often only takes a few days.
Request books or journal articles not available at Grafton Library.
Learn more about how to find the full-text of journal articles:
Search the web for articles using Google Scholar. Remember to check the
Journal Finder to find full-text of any articles you find.
Humanities International Complete
Full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world.
A scholarly journal archive. Economics, history, math, philosophy, political science, language and literature, sociology, botany, and ecology.
Holdings: Varies; from the 1800s - late 2000s
America: History and Life
Articles and book reviews primarily on the history of the US and Canada. Also indexes select journals in the social sciences and humanities.
Holdings: 1954 - present
Academic Search Complete
A multidisciplinary database providing full text access to scholarly and general interest journals, books, and reports.
MLA International Bibliography with Full Text
(Modern Language Association) Language, literature, linguistics.
Literature Resource Center
The LRC is a select compilation of the literary criticism series published by Gale. Find biographical and critical information about writers and literary and dramatic works.
Virginia's Historical Newspapers
Full text newspapers from the state of Virginia covering the time of colonial development to World War I.
Historic newspaper, including illustrations, advertisements, and news stories.
Holdings: 1857 - 1877
This site allows you to search and view newspaper pages from 1860-1922 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. The data is open and can be used outside of the platform.
Chat with a Librarian