Detailed information for each country includes a statistical survey of finance, trade and industry and transport.
1959 - present
CRB Commodity Yearbook
Call Number: Ref. HF1041.C56
Statistical data and overviews on production, prices, futures, and import/export for about 100 basic commodities.
1982 - present
Direction of Trade Statistics Yearbook
Call Number: Ref. HF91.D52
An IMF compilation of monthly and annual export/import values in US dollars.
1978/85 - present
International Financial Statistics
Call Number: Ref. HG61.I57
Thirty years of annual statistics are presented for each country. Data included: exchange rate, interest rates, production, prices, and international reserves.
1988 - present
The World almanac and book of facts
Call Number: Ready Ref. AY67.N5 W7
Polling the NationsPolls from a variety of sources including Gallup, the Pew Center, Zogby International, major newspapers, and more, providing an opportunity to analyze trends, compare attitudes and contrast behavior on more than 6,000 topics.
Statistics on the Web
Some of these resources may also be available in print at Grafton Library. Look for a call number.
GlobalEdgeComprehensive business site – the 'Country Insight' section provides an outline of the business climate, political structure, history, and statistical data for more than 190 countries. It also includes regional and country specific links in addition to a general overview of each geographic area.
Gapminder: World data visualizedThis website allows users to create their own visual representations of world data for country to country comparisons for some 500 indicators. Users can share the charts they have created through URLS and downloads by PDF or spreadsheets. Click on the tab that says "Gapminder World" on the top of the homepage to access this valuable resource! Tutorials are available for further instructions.
AidDataProvides free access to the world's largest database of individual foreign aid projects. Includes software applications to analyze these data and a blog for discussion of international development. Hosted by the College of William and Mary, Brigham Young University, and Development Gateway.
Public Data Explorer- Google Labs"Play with the tool to create visualizations of public data, link to them, or embed them in their own webpages." Use data from the sources listed in data directory on the website, or upload your own. From Google Labs.
ForeignAssistance.govThe Foreign Assistance Dashboard provides a view of U.S. Government foreign assistance funds and enables users to examine, research, and track aid investments in a standard and easy-to-understand format. The Dashboard is still in its early stages of development.
The World Bank: Open DataThe data catalog provides access to over 7,000 indicators from World Bank Data Sets. Browse by country, topic or indicators.