It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Image Copyright Winnifredxoxo. Used under the terms of a CC BY 2.0 License.
You need to take steps to evaluate all of the information that you use in your research. Special care must be taken with websites. Keep these factors in mind when you're thinking about using information from a website:
NGO DatabaseCreated by a librarian at Duke University Libraries, this database indexes 690 NGOs in 30 subject categories mainly dealing with human rights, development, the environment, and women's rights. Search or browse alphabetically.
United Nations Multidimensional Poverty IndexThe Multidimensional Poverty Index (MPI) is a new international measure of poverty which complements income-based poverty measures by reflecting the multiple deprivations that people face at the same time across 104 developing countries. The MPI identifies deprivations across health, education and living standards, and shows the number of people who are multidimensionally poor and the deprivations that they face on the household level.
Search for reports, press releases, appeals for action and newsletters in the Amnesty International Library (see link at top of the page). Also contains video and audio.
Brookings InstitutionThe Brookings Institution is an independent, nonpartisan organization devoted to research, analysis, and public education with an emphasis on economics, foreign policy, governance, and metropolitan policy.
Official Documents of the United NationsAccess to official UN documentation since 1993. Older documents are being added to the system daily. Also includes resolutions of the General Assembly, Security Council, Economic and Social Council and the Trusteeship Council from 1946 onwards
World Public Opinion"WorldPublicOpinion.org is an international collaborative project whose aim is to give voice to public opinion around the world on international issues." The site includes digests, which provides comprehensive analyses of polling on various international topics
Country Briefings (Economist)Basic country profiles include information on: geography, people, government, economy, communications, transportation, military, and transnational business.
Treaties in Force"Treaties in Force is prepared by the Department of State for the purpose of providing information on treaties and other international agreements to which the United States has become a party" as of January 1, 2010.
International Criminal CourtLearn about the structure of the court, information about the court, open investigations and closed cases, rules and regulations of the court. Also includes annual reports and a bibliography of relevant texts.
Uppsala Conflict DatabaseIncludes information on conflicts, various types of violence and peace agreements for countries and region. Also provides graphs and charts and datasets. From the University at Uppsala.
Human Security Report ProjectHuman Security Report Project is an independent research center affiliated with Simon Fraser University. It produces free online publications written on global and regional trends in organized violence, terrorism and warfare. Includes data and country reports.
IUCN: International Union for Conservation of NatureProvides links to resources and news in environmental conservation.
"IUCN is the world’s oldest and largest global environmental network - a democratic membership union with more than 1,000 government and NGO member organizations, and almost 11,000 volunteer scientists in more than 160 countries."
ForeignAssistance.govThe Foreign Assistance Dashboard provides a view of U.S. Government foreign assistance funds and enables users to examine, research, and track aid investments in a standard and easy-to-understand format. The Dashboard is still in its early stages of development.
Coface: Country Risk and Economic ResearchSite presents country risk information in three main sections: Country Risks, Sectors and Business Climate. The sectors section contains global snapshots and ratings of industries.
World Food SituationContains information on the world food situation including commodities, food situation indicators and reports on short and long term market issues.
World Bank : Countries and RegionsKey indicators for social and economic development over the last three decades. Country data covered: poverty, key economic ratios and long term trends, structure of the economy, prices and government finance, trade, balance of payments, and external debt and resource flows.
GlobalEdgeComprehensive business site – the 'Country Insight' section provides an outline of the business climate, political structure, history, and statistical data for more than 190 countries. It also includes regional and country specific links in addition to a general overview of each geographic area.
World Development ReportsThe World Bank's annual World Development Report (WDR) is a guide to the economic, social and environmental state of the world today. Each year the WDR provides in depth analysis of a specific aspect of development.
Look for the gear icon while searching Google to refine your search. Google's Advanced search allows you to search specific websites or types of websites, and gives you more control over how your search terms are searched.