It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
You have many options when it comes to finding and using books. The Grafton Library Discovery Service (GLDYS), allows you to search for books and ebooks both here at Grafton library and in libraries around the world. If you're just looking for books, make sure to pay attention to the limiters on your search, because GLDYS also allows you to search for articles and video materials.
International Relations by Paul WilkinsonOf undoubtable relevance today, in a post-9-11 world of growing political tension and unease, this iVery Short Introduction/i covers the topics essential to an understanding of modern international relations. Paul Wilkinson explains the theories and the practice that underlie the subject, andinvestigates issues ranging from foreign policy, arms control, and terrorism, to the environment and world poverty. He examines the role of organizations such as the United Nations and the European Union, as well as the influence of ethnic and religious movements and terrorist groups which also playa role in shaping the way states and governments interact. This up-to-date book is required reading for those seeking a new perspective to help untangle and decipher international events.
Publication Date: 2007-08-20
International Relations and Historical Sociology by Hobden S StaffThis book provides an original analysis of recent work by key historical sociologists through the prism of International Relations. Stephen Hobden investigates the number of issues which overlap between the two disciplines by focusing on three main themes: * the ways in which historical sociologists approach international relations in general and the concept of an international system in particular * recent advances on the concept of the state as developed by Historical Sociology and their implications for International Relations * the potential for productive dialogue between the two schools of thought.
Publication Date: 1998-10-01
International Relations by Charles JonesToday, more than ever, we are buffeted by forces that originate from beyond our shores. Whether it’s war, economics, politics, or law, we live in a global world influenced by a complex landscape of international transactions. Esteemed academic Charles Jones ably provides the building blocks to understand the history of these interactions, outlining all the key actors -- from the United States and China to the IMF and Google -- and the competing theories that attempt to explain them. Arguing that the strength of international relations lies in its contradictions -- it’s not a single discipline but a fascinating mess of history, politics, economics, sociology, law, anthropology, and cultural studies -- this guide provides a lively discussion of the limitations of the field, as well as an explanation of why it is so essential. Covering globalization, conflict, history, and theory, this is the perfect primer for students of international relations, workers in an international context, and citizens across the globe.
Publication Date: 2014-03-06
Ebook Central (Proquest)Contains over 80,000 academic multidisciplinary ebooks across the academic spectrum, including books in business, economics, careers, computers, law, medicine, and the natural and social sciences.
EBSCO Academic eBook CollectionThis growing collection contains a large selection of multidisciplinary eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subject matter. 135,000 + eBooks.
Chat with a Librarian
International Relations Books at Grafton
Browse for books on the shelves at Grafton Library using the Library of Congress' subject classification system. International Relations books start with the call number JQ - JZ. Or search by Subject Alphabetical in the catalog for "United States-- Foreign Relations" or "International Relations"