Skip to Main Content
Mary Baldwin University Logo
Martha S. Grafton Library

Grafton Sub-Pages

Sub-Page content is being updated. Any changes in nav or style must be mirrored on home and off-campus log-in guide.

Interlibrary Loan FAQ

How do I request a book?

There are a two ways to easily request a book through ILL. The first, and fastest, is to make the request through the Grafton Library Discovery Service (GLDYS). GLDYS searches material in our library and other libraries worldwide. 

When you search for a book, you may often find that Grafton has a copy. If Grafton does own the book you’re looking for, then you will see "Held by Mary Baldwin University" and the stacks location information on the record. 

If the book is “Available”, then you don’t need to request it through ILL, you can just come by Grafton and retrieve the book yourself or place a pickup request for the item and we will gladly pull the item for you and have it waiting.

If Grafton does not own the book, the record will say “Held by other libraries worldwide” and you will need to place an ILL request for it.

To place an ILL request for the book, click on the title to open the item record.
 

Then, click on the "Request Item through Interlibrary Loan" button and fill out your contact information on the form that follows. 

 

The second way to request a book through ILL is to use the ILL Request/Renew form. Use this form when you can’t find the book in GLDYS.

How do I request a journal article?

There are several ways to submit an article request. You can submit them through Grafton Library Discovery Service (GLDYS), through our databases, or, through the ILL Request/Renew form

Request an article through GLDYS

The Grafton Library Discovery Service (GLDYS) is the best way to submit a request if you already know of an article you need, or if you find one while searching in GLDYS. 

To submit an article request in GLDYS, click on the article title.  

Then, click on the “Request Item through Interlibrary Loan button” and fill out your contact information on the form that follows. 

 

Request an article through a database

When you search in our databases and find an article you need, you can submit a request for it directly from the database. But, before submitting an ILL request, always try the “Check for Full Text” link to see if Grafton has the article available for immediate download.

On the next screen, click on the “View Full Text” link, if it is present. This should take you to the page where you can download the article.

If you don't see the "View Full Text" link, or it doesn't take you to your article, then click the "Request This Item" button and fill out your contact information in the form that follows. 

*Pro Tip: if you need the article NOW, copy and paste the title into GLDYS and/or Google Scholar. You may be able to access it in a different database

Request an article using the online form

If you can’t submit a request through GLDYS or our databases, then you can use the ILL Request/Renew form.

Materials Available through ILL

What can I request through ILL?

You can request pretty much anything you want.

  • Books (e-Books are usually not available through ILL)
  • Journal articles (limit: 2 articles per journal issue due to copyright restrictions)
  • Newspaper articles
  • Book chapters (limit: 1 chapter per book due to copyright restrictions)
  • Dissertations and theses
  • DVDs 
  • CDs
  • Music Scores
  • Photocopies from rare books and manuscripts
  • Government documents
  • Items on microfilm

Can I request textbooks through ILL?

No. Textbooks for class are one of the few things that we cannot request through Interlibrary Loan. 

No. Any textbooks or assigned readings being used during the current semester cannot be requested through Interlibrary Loan. 

Please visit the MBU bookstore to learn what purchase and rental options may be available.

You may also want to try these online booksellers for new, used, and eBook options. 

AddALL

Alibris

AllBookstores.com

Amazon

Barnes & Noble

Campus Books

Chegg

ecampus.com

Textbooks.com

Can I request a Grafton book that is checked out?

Yes. Just submit the request as a normal ILL book request.

Is there a limit on the number of items?

No. Feel free to submit as many requests as you like!

Fines & Fees

What are the overdue fees?

Grafton Library does not charge daily overdue fees. However, 

  • When an item becomes 7 DAYS OVERDUE your ILL privileges will be suspended until it is returned or renewed.

  • When an item becomes 10 DAYS OVERDUE you may be billed a $100 replacement charge plus a non-refundable $15 processing fee.

For more information on late returns, see the Late, Lost, or Damaged items section.

Is there a charge to use ILL?

No. The cost of obtaining most ILL materials is covered by Grafton Library.  In rare cases there may be a fee, but we will ask for your authorization in advance. Charges generally range from $10 to $35 per item.

Delivery Time

  • Books usually arrive within 5-10 business days, but can take up three weeks. We cannot guarantee a specific delivery time so please order early. You will receive a notification email when you book arrives. It will be made available for self-pickup.

  • Journal articles usually take 1-3 days to arrive, but can take longer; so order as far in advance as possible. Articles will be emailed to you.

  • Book chapters usually arrive in 2-7 days. Copies will be emailed to you.

Pick-Up & Return

How do I know when my material has arrived?

When your requested material arrives at Grafton, you will be notified by email.
If you requested a physical item, like a book or a DVD, you will receive an arrival notification email and a time when it will be ready for self-pickup. All items will be available on the Pickup shelves located to the left of the circulation desk.
If you requested an article or book chapter, you will receive an email with either an access URL and password or an attached PDF copy of the document.


Where do I pick up my items?

All physical items (books, DVDs, etc.) will be available on the pickup shelves located to the left of the circulation desk. They will remain available for 10 business days after the date you received you arrival notification email.
If you requested an article or book chapter, you will receive an email with either an access URL and password or an attached PDF copy of the document.

How/Where do I return my books or other ILL materials?

Making returns is easy and there are several ways you can get the material back to us.
1)    use our 24 hour drop box located to the right of the front doors
2)    drop off the material at the main circulation desk
3)    mail material to this address:
Grafton Library – Returns
Mary Baldwin University 
201 E. Frederick St.
Staunton, VA 24401
You are responsible for return shipping.
Any copies sent to you via email are yours to keep and do not need to be returned.

I am a distance student. Will you mail my items to me?

Yes. If you live outside the Staunton/Augusta area we will mail your items to you, free of charge. When you are finished with the material, mail it back to Grafton at this address:

Grafton Library – Returns
Mary Baldwin University 
201 E. Frederick St.
Staunton, VA 24401
You are responsible for return shipping.
Any copies sent to you via email are yours to keep and do not need to be returned.

Due Dates

How long can I keep my ILL materials?

Due dates are determined by the lending library and will be shown on the ILL sticker on the item and in your library account. 
Most libraries lend material for 1-12 weeks. Books are usually lent for 2-16 weeks, while DVDs usually lend for 1-2 weeks. The ILL department works to borrow material from lenders with the longest lend times.
If you need your material past the due date, you will need to either renew or reorder the material using the ILL Request/Renew form
For more information on renewals and reorders see the Renewals section. 

Late, Lost, or Damaged Items

What happens if I return my material late?


Failure to return ILL materials on time may result suspension of your ILL privileges as well as replacement charges and non-refundable processing fees. 

The Library will send you courtesy notices to remind you of an approaching due date. You will also receive overdue emails once the due date has passed. Failure to receive these automatic notices does not excuse you from returning the material in a timely manner.  

Due dates are clearly labelled on the ILL stickers on your items.

See the Fines & Fees section for more on late charges.

What if I lose or damage an item?

You are financially responsible for any damage to or loss of interlibrary loan materials. Fees are determined by the lending library and can range anywhere from $15 to over $100.

We do not accept replacements for damaged or lost items.

Renewals

Can I renew my ILLs?

Possibly. Renewals are made at the discretion of the lending institution and can’t be guaranteed. 

Some items are loaned on a non-renewable basis. This should be reflected as “No Renewals” on the ILL sticker that is on the item and in the item title on your library account. Be sure to check both places before submitting a renewal request. 

How do I renew or reorder my ILL items?

Before you submit a renewal request, be sure to check the ILL sticker on the item and/or your library account to see if it says “No Renewals.”

Renewal and reorder requests can be made using the ILL Request/Renew form.  Be sure to select the “Renew/Reorder an item” option on the form. 

Try to submit renewal/reorder requests about 5-7 days prior to the due date to allow sufficient time for the lender to respond or for new copies to arrive. 

How long do renewals take?

Renewal requests are generally answered in 1-3 days, but it can take longer. If you don’t receive an email about request within five business days, please contact the Interlibrary Coordinator to enquire about the status of the request.

How will I know if my item was renewed?

You will be notified via email when your request is either accepted or denied. If the renewal request is accepted, the email will include the new due date.

How long is the renewal period?

Renewal periods vary. They are usually four weeks, but can be one or two weeks. Renewal periods are set by the lending institution.

Keep in mind that most items can only be renewed once. After that, if you still need the material, you will need reorder the material using the ILL Request/Renew form.

Cancel a Request

How do I cancel a request if I no longer need the material?

Simply send an email to the Interlibrary Coordinator as soon as you know you do not need the material. There are no charges for cancelling a request.

Interlibrary Loan Coordinator

Helpful Links

GLDYS

Interlibrary loan requests can be placed easily though GLDYS, Grafton's discovery service. Simply find the item you want and use the options within GLDYS to request your item.

Request / Renew Form

You can request books, book chapters, articles and item renewals through our ILL Request / Renew Form.