Skip to main content
Mary Baldwin University Logo
Martha S. Grafton Library

Grafton Sub-Pages

Sub-Page content is being updated. Any changes in nav or style must be mirrored on home and off-campus log-in guide.

Online Resources

As many of you convert your courses to Blackboard or Canvas, we wanted to take the opportunity to offer our help. 
 
Textbooks --
RedShelf - Many college textbooks are being offered electronically for FREE for the remainder of the semester (until May 25, 2020). Users will need to create an account.
Course Reserves - If your professor had items on Reserves, there may be alternative ways of accessing that material. See the list here. Links to Redshelf will require you to create an account.
 
If there is a book unavailable through these means, we're happy to help you scan chapters (or more) to see you through to the end of the semester. 
 
E-books -- we can help you find e-texts that might be available in our collections. 
Internet Archive National Emergency Library -collection of books that supports emergency remote teaching, research activities, independent scholarship, and intellectual stimulation
Open Library - Many books (academic and popular) are available to rent through the Open Library. Users will need to create an account. 
Internet Archive - Users will need to create an account. 
University of Michigan Press eBook Collection - UMP is making their collection of ebooks free to read (not download) until April 30th
    
Other resources:  
Kanopy free films: available now for the next 30 days
Kanopy Great Courses - free for 4 weeks starting Monday, March 16th
Project Muse - Is currently offering many resources (books and journals) for free
New York Times in Education - Tools and assignments for remote teaching using the New York Times (see additional Information about accessing the New York Times).
 
Coronavirus Research Database -cross-disciplinary, authoritative resource with articles, dissertations, and other content.
 
Remember, all Grafton databases are available from off-campus using MBU credentials and accessed through the library's webpages.

Resources for Faculty

Grafton library happily supports Mary Baldwin faculty as they educate, embolden and empower our students. The following pages include information about services the library offers to faculty. You can use the navigation menu on the left or the buttons before to explore. If you have any questions, please contact a librarian.

For information about Information Literacy instruction, services and workshops available to you and your students, please see our Library Instruction page. You can also request Library Instruction for your classes.

 

See the Adding Content to your Courses page for information about using the library's reserve system or adding electronic resources to your Blackboard Courses. For more information on Mary Baldwin's Copyright Policy, see our Copyright Policy page.

 

For information about Faculty library privileges and policies, please see our Faculty ILL and Borrowing page.

 

Please see our Adding Material to the Collection page for more information about requesting material to be added to the library's collection or our collection development policy.


Library Liaison Program

A librarian is assigned to each academic department in an effort to maintain awareness of departmental projects, programs, and initiatives that have implications for the library collection and services. The liaison also strives to keep the department aware of library services and materials of interest to the department. Please keep your liaison aware of your department's projects and changing research needs.

Find the liaison for your academic area in the side panels of this page. If you're unsure which liaison to contact, you can always email your departmental news and book requests to ask@marybaldwin.edu.

Christina Harris's picture
Christina Harris
Contact:
Grafton 201
540-887-7316

Liaison Subject Areas:

Art, Art History, Communication and Marketing, Education, English, French, Music, Philosophy, Religion, Shakespeare and Performance, Spanish, Theatre

Ask A Librarian's picture
Ask A Librarian
Chat is offline. Sorry we missed you!
Please email Grafton Library,
call us 540-887-7085,
or text us 540-300-4622.
Contact:
(540) 887-7085
ask@marybaldwin.edu

Liaison Subject Areas:

American Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Biology, Business, Chemistry, Criminal Justice, Economics, Health Care Administration, Health Sciences, History, Mathematics, Physics, Political Science, Psychology, Social Work, Sociology