Research Guides: POLS215: Scholarly Resources

Using Scholarly Research

Scholarly Books and Articles should be the heart of your research!

Books are a great place to get a wide range of knowledge about a country or area. They can provide background, analysis, data, and more.

Search Grafton's Databases

JSTOR This link opens in a new window A scholarly journal archive. Economics, history, math, philosophy, political science, language and literature, sociology, botany, and ecology. Holdings: Varies; from the 1800s - late 2000s
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window HeinOnline is the world's largest fully searchable, image-based government document and legal research database. It contains comprehensive coverage from inception of U.S. statutory materials, U.S. Congressional Documents and more than 2,600 scholarly journals. HeinOnline provides topic specific databases including all of the world's constitutions, all U.S. treaties, collections of classic treatises and presidential documents, Criminal Justice, Religion and the Law, and Women and the Law among others.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a great resource for finding scholarly resources. It is also a great place to check for the full-text of an article before submitting an ILL request.

News Sources

Newspapers can be a great way to discover how an event was viewed internationally, especially things such as wars, elections, coups, debates, policies, etc.

Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window Provides cover-to-cover full text for 131 national & international newspapers and selective full text for more than 335 U.S newspapers. In addition, full-text television & radio news transcripts are provided.
Factiva This link opens in a new window Business, industry, and market data; newspaper and journal articles; and quick links to essential business web sites. Holdings: Varies; from the 1980s - present