Skip to main content
Mary Baldwin University Logo
Martha S. Grafton Library

Grafton Sub-Pages

Sub-Page content is being updated. Any changes in nav or style must be mirrored on home and off-campus log-in guide.

2016-2017 Collection Evaluation

In a constant effort to maintain a current and relevant collection, the Grafton librarians systematically review the library's holdings for items that no longer support the curriculum.  The librarians have created lists of items in selected call number ranges that are under consideration for withdrawal from the collection. Please see the call number boxes to the right and at the bottom of the page for more information about review dates.

Review Criteria 

Each list only contains print monographs shelved in the library stacks that meet the following criteria:

  • have not been checked out or used within the library since 1995 when our system was automated.
  • were published before 2005.
  • are not in Resources for College Libraries, a database of core resources for all subject areas.
  • are widely held per WorldCat holdings and/or are in the public domain.

​No items published from 2005 to the present are under consideration.  In the Ps, Ds, Es, and Fs, no items printed earlier than 1945 are under consideration.  Titles considered core or essential works in Resources for College Libraries or other works by the authors of core works are not under consideration for deselection.  To ensure the weeding lists only contain items no one has used in the past 20 years, we analyzed each item for the number of check outs and in library uses.  You can learn learn more about the library's framework for maintaining a current and relevant collection in the Collection Development Policy.

Lists and Your Input

Each call number list has two files to give faculty a comprehensive understanding of what items are currently in our collection and which we are considering to deselect.

Weeding Lists

The Weeding List is a Google Sheet where faculty members can make any comments or recommendations that we retain the item.  The Call Number, Author, Title, and Publication Date columns are locked and cannot be edited.  If you believe that the library should retain certain volumes despite the factors listed above, please make a comment to this effect in the Comment/Suggest to Retain column in the appropriate row. 

Inventory Lists

Use ThistleCAT Mary Baldwin University to explore the full inventory of print items in our circulating collection.  See below for a detailed explanation of this platform.  Faculty members may also take this opportunity to suggest new titles for the library to purchase that will better support the curriculum.

Next Steps

Lists for each call number range will be posted in a staggered schedule along with the final review date for each section.  After the review date, those books that are eventually withdrawn will be sent to our partners at Better World Books. As a quick reminder, BWB will attempt to: sell the items for us and we will receive a percentage of the sale; donate to our selected non-profit, Room to Read; or recycle the books.

 

ThistleCAT Mary Baldwin University 

View the Full Inventory

(Updated 16 August 2017)

Explore the full inventory of all circulating print items using this interactive platform.  Designed by Rachel Maderik of Virginia Military Academy, ThistleCAT lets you browse the collection by Library of Congress (LC) call number area or search a specific call number range to view the items and the number of times they have been checked out since Grafton Library updated their system in 1995.

Collection Visualization

This module allows you to see an overview of the total number of items we hold in all LC classes.  You can select a specific class or subclass (example - all D - World History or just DA - Great Britain) from a list on the left side of the screen and have a new visualization of the number of items within the selected area.  The visualization within the class and subclass allows you to see the number of items in that area published by year.  When you click on a year, it generates a list of items with their Call Number, Title, Author, Date, and total number of checkouts.  

If you are interested in seeing the usage information within a range, use the Select a Layer button and choose between Total Checkouts and Last Checked Out Date.  Total Checkouts includes all the circulation information from 1995 to the present.  The Last Checked Out Date tells you how frequently an item has been used.  A title might have been checked out ten times in the past 22 years but the last time it was used was 20 years ago.  The checkout thresholds are 0, 1-5, 6-20, and >20.  

It is often helpful to click on Turn Compressed View On to get a closer look at the bulk of the information.  This button is next to the LC Class at the top of the visualization and zooms the visualization in to the areas with the most content.

Query Builder

If you have a specific call number range that you are interested in examining, use the Query Builder to search in a more granular level.  You can search specifically for all items starting with DA320 - Tudor England and view a list of the items in that area.  You can also enter in a range of call numbers - DA 320 - DB 500, for example.

Literature Module

This module allows you to look at selected British and American authors and view the items we have in the collection written by them and written about their works.  It provides a snap shot of primary vs. secondary sources for these authors and gives a visualization of the holdings in the PRs and PSs.  

Link: http://www.grafton-marybaldwin.org/thistlecat_stacks/

Guide to sheets

The Weeding Lists are Google Sheets with only items we are considering removing from the collection. The Comment/Desire to Retain column is the only column that can be edited.

Some ranges are broken down into smaller units for ease of finding specific call number ranges of interest.  If you are interested in navigating to a specific topic by call number range but are unsure of where to get that information, use the the Library of Congress Call Number Ranges website to help you find the right area.

If you have any questions, contact Paula Kiser (pkiser@marybaldwin.edu).

B - Philosopy, Psychology, Religion - Review by November 3rd

B-BD: Philosophy; BH-BX: Aesthetics, Ethics, Religion

BF - Psychology

M - Music - Review by November 3rd

N - Art & Art History - Review by November 3rd

Ps - Review by November 17th

P- Philology, Linguistics; PA - Greek and Latin languages and literature; PB - Modern and Celtic languages and literature; PC - Romance languages; PD - Germanic and Scandinavian languages; PE - English language; PF - West Germanic languages; PG - Slavic, Baltic, and Albanian languages; PH - Uralic and Basque languages; PJ - Asian languages and literatures; PK - Indo-Iranian languages and literatures; PL - Languages and literatures of East Asia, Africa, and Oceania; PM - Hyperborean, Indian, and artififical languages

PN - Literature (General) minus drama, PN1600-3299 - Drama

PQ1-3999 - French Literature

PQ4001-5999 - Italian Literature; PQ9000-9999  - Portuguese Literature

PQ6001-8929 - Spanish Literature

PR1-938 - British Literary History and Criticism (by period and form)

PR951-9680 - British Literature (by time period)

PS1-439 - American Literary History and Criticism (by time period and form)

PS451-3626 - American Literature; PS8001-8599 - Canadian Literature

PT1-4897 - Germanic Literature; PT 5001-6593.36- Dutch, Flemish, and Afrikaans Literature; PT7001-9999 - Scandinavian, Old Norse, Modern Icelandic, Faorese, Danish, Norwegian, and Swedish Literature