Skip to main content
Mary Baldwin University Logo
Martha S. Grafton Library

CHEM221/222: Organic Chemistry: Find full-text article from citation

A guide to resources for Dr. Craig's Organic Chemistry class.

Steps

~Scroll down for Video Tutorial~

If your article has a PDF full-text link or and HTML full-text link then you're all set to go!

If not, we'll have to find full-text through other means. First we'll try to find it in another database.

1. Find the article's citation information (article title, authors, journal title, date, volume, issue #). Then pick out the journal title.

The journal name for this article is Gerontologist. In the databases, it may look like this:

Or this...

2. Then, go to the Grafton Library homepage, and click on the Print & Online Journal List to see if another database has full-text access to that journal.

3. In the Print & Online Journal List, search for the jouranl title by entering the first few words or use the Alphabetical list to browse for your title.

Note: If you do a search and come up with no results, check your spelling and/or search in another way, either alphabetically or by Title Contains All Words. If you still get no results, jump to step number 6 below.

4. If MBC has access to the journal, you will see our holdings listed. The holdings information includes the years of coverage and where or in what database you will find the journal. Compare the holdings to your citation to be sure the year your article was published is available.

5. If you see "Mary Baldwin Print Holdings," that means the journal is in print in the periodicials room of Grafton Library. If you click on the Mary Bladwni Print Holdings link, you will get more information such as whether the journal is bound, on microfiche, in storage, etc. If you are an ADP, MAT, or MLitt student working from off-campus, use our online forms to request your article.

6. If the journal is full-text in a database, the holdings information will supply the database name and a link to the journal full-text in the database.

7. Use the date your article was published and the volume and issue number, to locate your article in the journal database.

8. Sometimes we do not have access to the journal either in print or online. If this is the case, you can place a request for the article through our interlibrary loan department. Fill out the form with the article's citation information. You'll get an e-mail when the article arrives.

Video Tutorial: Finding Full Text

Unable to display content. Adobe Flash is required.

Subject Guide

Anaya Jones's picture
Anaya Jones
Contact:
(540) 887-7316
rajones@marybaldwin.edu
Ask for me at the Circulation Desk