Skip to main content
Mary Baldwin University Logo
Martha S. Grafton Library

CHEM221/222: Organic Chemistry: Search for Articles

A guide to resources for Dr. Craig's Organic Chemistry class.

Steps:

1. When you need to find articles, the first place to look is in the library databases.

2. Some databases are general and others cover specific subject areas. A good place to start searching for articles is the database Academic Search Complete, because it covers a wide range of subjects and contains some articles in full-text. Databases that cover specific subject areas are located under the "Find a database by subject area." For example, if you need articles about attention deficiet disorder, select the Psychology category to view databases which contain articles on Psychology. PsycINFO is a good choice for articles on the psychological aspects of the disorder, MEDLINE for the medical aspects, and ERIC for the educational.

                    

You can find a database by browsing for them in the subject area listing or the alphbetical listing. Top databases, like Academic Search Complete, are located in the drop-down menu, "Top Databases," on the library's homepage.

3. Begin your search:

The database you decide to search may look different than this one, but most databases contain a set of several search boxes. Split up your search terms so there is one one word in each box. Or, if there are two or more words that together as a phrase, like "global warming", surround them in quotation marks.

4. Refine your results.

By full-text, peer-reviewed, and date (left image), or by subject term (right image). This may narrow your research to articles more closely related to your research topic. Refining by subject term can also give you ideas for search terms.

5. Find full-text. If your article has a PDF full-text link, then you are all set to go! Click on the link and your full-text will appear.

If not, you'll have to find the full-text through other means.

6. No PDF full-text link? That's okay, we'll try to find it in another database. Go to the "Find full-text article from a citation" for further instructions.

Searching Academic Search Complete

Unable to display content. Adobe Flash is required.

Help with Specific Databases