Research Guides: Health Sciences and Medicine: Articles

Using Databases

The library has access to a number of different databases that will help you with your research.

Use the article databases to search for citations, abstracts and full-text articles.

The newspaper databases to find current and historical newspaper articles.

If full-text is not available in your database, first check the Journal Finder to check for access in one of our other databases. If still not available, you can request articles through Interlibrary Loan.

Cochrane Library Databases

The Cochrane Library is a collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making.

Database of Abstracts of Reviews and Effects DARE includes abstracts of published systematic reviews on the effects of health care from around the world, which have been critically analyzed according to a high standard of criteria.

Journals

Hospitals : the journal of the American Hospital Association
Call Number: Periodicals, Bound
Hospital and health services administration : quarterly journal of the American College of Hospital Administrators
Call Number: Periodicals, Bound

Article Databases

Alt HealthWatch This link opens in a new window Focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. It includes full text articles for more than 180 international, and often peer-reviewed journals and reports. In addition, there are hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts.
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window CINAHL Plus with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 750 journals indexed in CINAHL. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index – with no embargo. CINAHL Plus with Full Text is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature.
Consumer Health Complete This link opens in a new window This full text database covers topics such as aging, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, fitness, nutrition & dietetics, children's health, men & women's health, etc. Contains medical images, videos, animations, health pamphlets, drug information and health reports.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window Essays on current, hot topics. Holdings: 1991 - present
Health Source: Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window This resource provides access to nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines, current, health-related pamphlets and more than 130 health reference books. Additionally, it contains more than 5,100 Clinical Reference Systems reports; Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names; and covers topics such as AIDS, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, aging, fitness, nutrition & dietetics, children's health, women's health, etc.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window Provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition also features the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.
MEDLINE Complete This link opens in a new window Combines the National Library of Medicine's bibliographic database with links to the complete text of articles from leading medical journals. The database offers information related to the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window This database provides nearly 575 full-text publications, including nearly 550 peer-reviewed titles and covers topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.
PsycNET This link opens in a new window APA PsycNET offers the combined resources of the PsycArticles, PsycINFO, and PsycBooks. Covers psychology and related fields such as psychiatry, sociology, education, and communication.

PubMed Central A free archive of biomedical and life sciences journals.

ScienceDirect Health and Life Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window Full text articles in health, medicine, and life sciences.

Newspaper Databases

Chat with a Librarian

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Google Scholar

Search the web for articles using Google Scholar. Remember to check the Journal Finder to find full-text of any articles you find.