Skip to main content
Mary Baldwin University Logo
Martha S. Grafton Library

Grafton Sub-Pages

Sub-Page content is being updated. Any changes in nav or style must be mirrored on home and off-campus log-in guide.

Borrowing Policies

  • A current MBU ID is required to check out material from the library
  • Grafton library does not print date-due slips at check-out

Instead, you should monitor due dates with your online library account. In your library account, you can see items you have checked out, check due dates, renew some items, request books and investigate any charges.

Items Available for Checkout:

Resource Loan Period Max Items Holds Renewals Fines
Circulating Collection 8 weeks undergrad /
16 weeks Graduate
No limit Yes Yes N/A
Bestseller Collection 4 weeks 3 Yes no N/A
Reserves 4 hours in library 3 No No N/A
DVDs 7 days 3 No No N/A
Kindles 2 weeks 1 No No N/A
Laptops 4 hours 1 No No N/A

Books in our circulating collection may be recalled from the original borrower after 30 days if another patron needs to use the book.

Replacement costs

If you lose and cannot return an item, you are responsible for the item's replacement cost and a non-refundable processing fee.  Items that reach long overdue status will be billed the replacement cost plus a non-refundable processing fee.  

Borrowing from other libraries:

Mary Baldwin has cooperative library agreements allowing Mary Baldwin students to check out materials from other libraries using a Mary Baldwin ID via the Virtual Library of Virginia (VIVA) Universal Borrowing Program. Checkout policies of the lending institution apply. Please visit the VIVA website for a list of participating institutions.

BOAP students at PVCC, Roanoke and Blue Ridge Community College may use the libraries associated with these regional centers. 

All Mary Baldwin students may apply for a Staunton Public Library card with their Mary Baldwin ID. You can then use your public library number to access resources at www.finditva.com

Most community colleges and public universities in Virginia extend borrowing and use privileges to all citizens of the commonwealth. Use of electronic material may be restricted to currently enrolled students, but general use of the library and photocopy services on site is allowed.

Questions? Contact Grafton's Access Services Coordinator.

Holds:

You can reserve books in the circulating and bestseller collections by placing a hold on the item. You can do this through GLDYS, or by calling the circulation desk.

Alumnae/i

Borrowing Privileges

Mary Baldwin alumnae/i are eligible to check out material from the library.  Alumnae/i may check out general books in the circulating collection, as well as bestseller books for leisure reading. We cannot offer access to Grafton's electronic journal articles or Interlibrary Loan services after graduation. 

Alumni should visit Grafton Library to apply for a library card to check out materials. One week is required for verification of alumni status and processing. Please ask for Grafton's Access Services Coordinator.

Article Databases

If alumnae/i are local to Staunton, they can use Grafton's library resources simply by coming into the library. We offer guest access to our computer systems, including our article databases.

Some databases offer free content. Get free access to early journal content (including over 500,000 articles from 200 journals) at JSTOR.

More Resources

Depending on where you live, you should have access to free online resources through your local public library. For example, if you live in Virginia you can use Find It Virginia to search for online resources.