Skip to main content
Mary Baldwin University Logo
Martha S. Grafton Library

Grafton Sub-Pages

Sub-Page content is being updated. Any changes in nav or style must be mirrored on home and off-campus log-in guide.

Mary Baldwin Archives

The Mary Baldwin Archives contain materials pertaining to the history of Mary Baldwin from its founding in 1842 as the Augusta Female Seminary to the present. The collection includes documents and letters of its founders, Rufus William Bailey and Mary Julia Baldwin; nineteenth-century diplomas, programs, photographs and student records. Many the documents are unique and fragile and therefore they are not available to the public.

The Library accepts donations of Mary Baldwin memorabilia on behalf of the institution, in accordance with current tax laws, through the office of Institutional Advancement.

Questions about archives or genealogy may be sent through the Archives Information Request Form. Please allow approximately two weeks for a response.

Digital Collections

Through a partnership with the Internet Archive a large number of historical Mary Baldwin Publications have been digitized. Included in that collection, the Mary Baldwin Bluestocking is available online from 1891-2009. The annual started in 1891 as a literary publication and then in 1899 became a more traditional yearbook. The Bluestocking was not published in 1907, 1918, and 1919. The yearbook name, The Bluestocking, refers to an educated, intellectual woman.

Grafton Library is digitizing historic photograph collections from the archives.  The Apple Day Collection and Eisenhower Visit Collection are available to view online.  You can browse through the collection or search by alumni name.